“D” is for Determination


I realized something while in the midst of renovating and moving into my house. Several weeks have gone by without me writing one single original word, blog posts excepted, of course.

What happened, I wondered?

Looking back, just as recently as December, I couldn’t go a day or two without itching to get back to a WIP or revision. Most waking moments were spent pondering a plot point or imaging a character’s…erm, character.

So, where did that passion go?

Directly. Into. Renovating.

Will I ever get back to writing?

You betcha.

Why?

Because I’m determined to keep going. I’m determined to succeed. I’m determined to keep improving my skills.

What about you? When you take a hiatus from writing, are you concerned you won’t ever get back to it? Why or why not?

19 comments on ““D” is for Determination

  1. Jessica Bell says:

    I think that’s only natural to feel like that. Sometimes your brain just really needs that time out. You’ll get back to it naturally when you’re brain has recovered! I’m going through the same thing now. But just last night I got a bit of an itch to write after not writing anything now for over a month. I think I’m rested and ready. Your time will come! :o)

  2. As someone who’s only been writing seriously for just over 2 years, I thought I’d hold onto that intense passion with total ease. I was wrong. This same thing happened to me for almost three months: Jan-Mar. I think it’s part of evolving ‘Writer’. In the end, we’ll be stronger for it. I’m sure you will, too!

  3. Doris says:

    When I’ve occasionally thought about taking a break in writing my stories, I feel uneasy and afraid of losing motivation. I just prefer to slow down.

    Nice **D post 🙂

    Doris

  4. Cheree Smith says:

    Great post. Sometimes I feel like that. I just have to keep going or else I’ll be afraid that I won’t start back up again. All you need to do is don’t give up and keep with that determination.

  5. I take small breaks from writing. I know me, and if I don’t jump back on the horse pretty quick, I’ll become overwhelmed and abandon the saddle. Great post! Loving this blogfest.

  6. vixter2010 says:

    It is hard to keep going when life gets in the way, I find juggling a full time job near on impossible with regular writer but you’ve hit the nail on the head with the word determination – if we want it, we need to go out and grab it! Good luck with the writing 🙂

  7. Carradee says:

    Am I worried in my times of hiatus that I may never write again? Not a bit.

    My friends would hamstring me. 😀

    It’s odd, but I’ve noticed that my hormone disorder influences my moods more when I’ve not been writing.

  8. I never worry about this, because I know that whether I get back to writing after a hiatus is completely within my control, and if I want to do it, I’ll do it.

  9. I used to write back-to-back. Then last July I took almost three months off. I needed the break, but when I went back to the writing, it was hard to get back into it. Scary. I did make up for the time off during nano. Now I realize, I need to try to write daily.
    Otherwise, it takes me a while to get back into the characters’ heads. For this reason, I’m really looking forward to the end of the spring semester (I teach freshmen college students) so I can write nonstop.
    That said, once in a while you really need to regroup–travel, read, fill up your mind and soul with new experience and ideas.

  10. John Sankovich says:

    I am concerned that I might not get back because life can overtake my time. 3 kids will do that to you. To get the urge back, I start to read, or write short fiction again before I dive back in.

    There are a lot of distractions nowadays, but when I’m in the groove of the story I can stay focused until it’s done.

    The hard part sometimes is finding the time with family.

  11. Adorable photo! I’m never concerned that I won’t get back to writing, because I love it so much. Even when I’m away from it and don’t have the time or the energy to write, I’m still constantly thinking about it. We all have those days where we cannot bear to sit down and be creative and spend the time putting down words again. But true writers should never have to worry about wanting to get back in the writing groove.

    ❤ Gina Blechman

  12. Linda Gray says:

    Oh my gosh, that picture of the squirrel and the birdfeeder says it all! Sometimes I think the only way to get back to writing after a hiatus is to accept that writing is as vital to us as getting to those munchables is to that squirrel. And it might be best not to think too deeply about that, but just go for it! At least that’s what works for me.

  13. I always worry that the well will run dry. But, the stories keep coming back. I think determination is so important as a writer.

  14. Faith says:

    I take frequent breaks, but I know I’ll come back to it eventually. It’s the lure of procrastination that I have to break — it’s a terrible habit.

  15. This happens to me when I have a lot of craft shows to do, and it sucks all my energy up, and when they are over, it’s like “what happened?” The key is that I get back into the studio as soon as possible–to keep the procrastination from intensifying its power.

  16. I have been away for a while. I’m not sure why. Probably a lack of time to fit everything in my life into small compartments. I’ll get back to it soon. Blessings to you, Laura…

  17. Lynda Young says:

    I’m currently taking a break from my WIP, but I didn’t mean to take a break from writing altogether. It kinda just happened. Now I’m getting all grumpy. lol. I need to get back into it 🙂

  18. Lydia K says:

    Go Laura! I take breaks too, often self-imposed breaks when betas are reading. It’s all good. Distance is healthy sometimes!

  19. ljdeleon says:

    Absolutely! I worry I’ll never write another compelling word again. I get nervous when I go back. 😦

Leave a Reply

