Mental Health Monday–“C” is for Capgras Syndrome


I’d like to give a special greeting to the #atozchallenge participants! If you’re unfamiliar with my blog, I reserve Mondays for all things Mental Health. I’m in cahoots with two fabulous bloggers, so I urge you to check out their posts too. πŸ˜‰

Lydia hosts Medical Mondays on her blog, The Word is My Oyster and Sarah Fine covers various psychological topics on Mondays on her blog, The Strangest Situation. We’re ALWAYS open to your writerly questions and would love to help you out. All you have to do is ask.

Alrighty, so on to today’s letter, “C.”

Capgras Syndrome, simply put, is when someone believes people they know have been “replaced” by identical impostors. It is considered a delusional disorder and most frequently occurs in people who have Schizophrenia. Other conditions, such as dementia or brain injury, can cause the condition.

Characters with Capgras Syndrome have shown up in novels and films and it can certainly create some interesting scenes should you choose to develop a character with the disorder.

**********

Disclaimer: These posts are for writing purposes ONLY and are NOT intended for medical treatment or advice.

19 comments on “Mental Health Monday–“C” is for Capgras Syndrome

  1. Ooh, sounds a bit scary. But, yes, I could make for an interesting character twist in any plot.

  2. Sarah says:

    I find delusional disorders to be the most frightening of all of them, because the person is so convinced of the truth of the delusion, and I think it must be a horrifying experience.

  3. Lynn Rush says:

    Oh, wow. What an interesting concept.

  4. vixter2010 says:

    Like in a Beautiful Mind? So scary to think your mind can play tricks like that you wouldn’t know about it!

  5. Vicki Tremper says:

    I hadn’t heard of that one before. Very interesting. I don’t think I’ll be using that in a novel any time soon, however.

  6. Lydia K says:

    Where is Laura and what have you done with her?
    Just kidding. ;P
    Great post!

  7. This could be used quite effectively in a mystery. Something popped right into my head when I read your post. Thanks!

  8. That is fascinating. It must be absolutely terrifying to experience this disorder.

    Of course the horror writer in me goes to a place of wondering what would happen if the person were right.

  9. Brenda Drake says:

    I’ve never heard of this disease, though it sounds like the Changelings in Irish myths. Great post, I love when I learn something new. πŸ˜€

  10. Five words: Invasion of the Body Snatchers. I was probably too young when I watched that movie, because it still disturbs me a little bit.

    “Soylent green is people.”

  11. I like what Lydia said: Where is Laura and what have you done with her? Ha! Confess! Now!

    I can see how this disorder could give opportunity for an interesting dilemma in fiction. Blessings to you, Laura…

  12. One of my identities keeps complaining to me the other identities are impostors. I keep telling her to shut up.

    On a serious note, I love these posts!

  13. I never knew that was a full syndrome. I just thought it was side-effect. I didn’t realize it had a name. Very cool. I might include that in a book some day.

    ❀ Gina Blechman

  14. I didn’t know the name, but I have heard of the symptoms.

    Interesting. Something to keep in the back of my mind if I should every write something that would call for this.

  15. Oh Laura! Capgras Syndrome sounds horrible. I’d never heard of it before. Great use of the letter C, girl. πŸ™‚

  16. Trisha says:

    These disorders are both fascinating and sad!

  17. Ciara Knight says:

    Great way to write a challenge post, yet keep your Medical Monday theme. πŸ™‚ Great job!!

  18. I was as medical librarian for 15 years, and I never had to look capgras syndrome up! Love this challenge, and all I’m learning.

  19. Lynda Young says:

    oh my.. I always thought it was just a movie thing. I didn’t realise it was a real condition

Leave a Reply

