BLOG CHAIN–Breakin’ Up Is Hard To Do


Cole brings up the wonderful topic of Internet Relations.

So I’ve decided something, Internets. We need to break up. Now don’t get me wrong, we can still be friends and hang out. But our torrid love affair? Over. You’re not good for me and I don’t like who I am when I spend too much time with you.

How about you? What hobbies, tips, or techniques do you have for keeping your writerly battery charged?

Wow, breaking up is hard to do!

Gotta say, I’ve been tempted to leave. How can one resist the temptation of a book giveaway, a blogfest, or a here’s-all-you-need-to-know-to-get-published post?

I’ve decidedly developed a love-hate relationship with the Internet.

The downsides are simple, but massive. Sometimes, I just want a break from the torrential stream of information from social networking. Other times (even though I’m stoked for the person), I get disappointed in my own lack of success when I see a writer get agented or sign a book deal.

So, why do I stay connected? The people. Scratch that. The wonderful, incredible, knowledgeable, goal-driven, hard-working, always supportive writers who I’ve met online. Without you guys and gals–YES, YOU!–I would never have gotten past my first newbie-mess-of-a-manuscript. I wouldn’t have learned the ins and outs of writing techniques, how to write a query letter or synopsis, or how to network.

I guess love wins out.

If you missed Margie’s answer from yesterday, click here.

Shaun’s up tomorrow.

 

 

(photo cred)

18 comments on “BLOG CHAIN–Breakin’ Up Is Hard To Do

  1. I’m reminded of the Beatles lyric “And in the end, the love you take is equal to the love you make.” What you get out of the Internet is what you put into it, I guess.

  2. vixter2010 says:

    So true, it can so easily become toxic and take over in a bad way but when you have a supportive community, you should embrace and enjoy it even if it is online. And I’m sure one day that book deal will be for you (and me please 🙂 )

  3. Hugs your way, Laura. Why do we do this? Writing is like breathing. I find that it calms and centers me and helps me deal with what’s going on in my life right now (my boss’ 2 yo just got diagnosed with stage 3 hepatoblastoma) and the future challenges I face. When I completed my first novel last year, I didn’t blog/Facebook/Tweet about it and I wrote more and faster than I do now. The internet definitely is a time suck. But it’s also a great distraction to keep your butt in the chair when you want to walk away and realize there are so many of us facing the same writing challenges…

    chin up

    Kath 🙂

  4. Sometimes I feel like I need a break, but then I remember about all of the amazing people on here whose blogs and comments I love, and I can never stay away for long.

    ❤ Gina Blechman

  5. Donna Hole says:

    “Truer words were never spoken.”

    That pretty well sums up my attitude about blogging lately. Gets in the way of reading, writing, TV. Sleep. But, there’s always one more post to read and enjoy, to learn from, to commiserate with. Friends to laugh with and cheer on and support when their characters are running amok or the plot takes a dive.

    I suppose there are less healthy addictions to have . .

    …………dhole

  6. Lydia K says:

    I guess we all need to take breaks once in a while. It’s toxic but there’s also so much great stuff…and the friendships are awesome. 🙂

  7. Regina says:

    Everytime I disconnect from the internet for a couple days or we take a breather, then it always feels like it takes me forever to catch back up. It only takes a few days to become strangers again. 🙂

  8. Margo says:

    Yes, it’s the friendships I’ve made that keep me coming back. I do think it’s really healthy to take a break. I took November off from the internet and didn’t feel like I missed a thing.

  9. Akoss says:

    It seems you’ve read my mind or something… I’ve been feeling like breaking up lately, but I didn’t and it’s all because of the friendships I’ve made.
    Thanks for posting this. 🙂

  10. Trisha says:

    I know how you feel – I think I’ve over-worked myself on the internet lately, and I think I just need a holiday. even just one day where I don’t touch the thing! But I always get sucked into checking my email at least. and it gets worse from there. LOL.

    Still, i do love it 95% of the time!

  11. Michelle H. says:

    I feel the same way. I wouldn’t know the techniques of manuscript writing, especially those darn synopsis, with the help of the internet. 🙂

  12. Nas says:

    We do need a break sometimes, but the net’s so useful as well!

    http://www.nas-dean.blogspot.com

  13. Lynda Young says:

    It’s definitely the poeple that keeps me coming back 🙂

  14. Christine Fonseca says:

    Hugs back at you!

  15. […] more fab answers on the chain, check out Laura’s post a few days ago, and Abby’s post […]

  16. The Internet is fantastic for the networking and information we can find, but it’s also really isolating. That isolation can feel all the worse when you feel like you’re spinning your wheels and not getting any further. All you can do is keep trying and keep improving. Great post!

  17. Abby Annis says:

    I love the amazing people in the online writing community too. If it wasn’t for all the love and support, I probably would’ve stopped blogging a long time ago. Great post! 🙂

  18. Cole Gibsen says:

    I completely agree! It’s the amazing people that always bring me back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

