Flake-out Friday–April Fool’s


Apparently, the earliest reference to April Fool’s day was in Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales. In 1392. Who knew?!

What’s more, the pranky, hoaxy, tricksy day is enjoyed world wide. Newspapers across the globe print false headlines. Friends and family play practical jokes on one another. Sales of Jackass and Jackass II skyrocket.

(Ok, I’m kidding on that last one–April Fool’s!!! Ha…Ugh, that was soooo not funny.)

So, gang, dish. What’s the funniest prank you’ve played on someone?

To get the ball rolling, here are some examples

1962–Instant Color TV…all watchers had to do was put a nylon stocking over their black and white TV screen and they’d see in color. Thousands of people fell for it.

1996–The Taco Liberty Bell…Taco Bell announced they purchased the Liberty Bell and renamed it the Taco Liberty Bell. As you can imagine, people were outraged.

1989–UFO Lands in London…a hot air balloon styled to look like a UFO lands near London, freaking out locals.

I think Mark Twain sums it up best:

The first of April is the day we remember what we are the other 364 days of the year.

13 comments on “Flake-out Friday–April Fool’s

  1. These made me laugh. Unfortunately, much like doing impersonations, pulling a good prank has alluded me. My oldest brother pulled some good ones on me.

  2. Doris says:

    LOL… I’m glad you reminded me of April Fool’s Day… I better be prepared in case anyone at work wants to have fun with us…

    Doris

  3. vixter2010 says:

    Happy April Fools!

  4. Tracy says:

    I’m not a very good prankster. It requires planning and I’m totally an off-the-cuff girl. That being said, I am hyper aware of others trying to pull pranks. I’m not fooled easily. It happens . . . but rarely ;o)

    I LOVE the color TV one. Man, I bet there were a lot of foolish-feeling mad people after that one.

  5. Kat says:

    The newspaper I work for has always resisted the temptation to print false headlines. It’s because news media outlets spend all of their time and resources to be the first and most reliable. Why rattle the trust your readers put in you because of a silly thing like April Fool’s?

    That doesn’t mean there aren’t some good tricks going on inside the office, though. 🙂 I can’t talk about the one I pulled…yet.

  6. Reece says:

    I wish I could have met Mark Twain. I think he and I would have been friends! Loved this post, by the way! Unfortunately, like Natasha, I’ve never been able to pull off pranks. I’m more the kind of guy who thinks of the blisteringly witty come-back…30 seconds too late.

  7. Oh, man…I can just imagine the outrage!

    I’m not much for playing pranks–and I can’t say I much enjoy being on the other end of them, either. But I do find it interesting to see what people have done! I like the instant-color TV one. 🙂

  8. Fun post, Laura,

    I’ve never been one for practical jokes. I tease, but that’s about it.

  9. I’m not good at thinking up pranks, but I fall for them quite easily. Ha! Happy April Fool’s Day! Blessings…

  10. Lynda Young says:

    Ha! I love the instant colour tv! Awesome.

  11. roguemutt says:

    Ha ha ha. Pranks are only fun if you’re dishing them.

  12. Arlee Bird says:

    That Mark Twain came up with some really great sayings. The man was genius.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out
    Twitter hashtag: #atozchallenge

  13. I’m a horrible prankster and I’m not very fond of having pranks played on me, so I don’t have any good stories to tell. Sorry! Loved the fun facts though.

    ❤ Gina Blechman

Leave a Reply

