BLOG CHAIN–Love Scenes


Whoops! The move has completely wrecked my ability to follow a schedule…well, at least as far as the blog chain is concerned.

I’d like to extend my deepest apologies to my chain mates. Hopefully posting a day later than planned won’t be too much of a disservice to this wonderful group of writers and bloggers! 😉

This round of the blog chain was started by Kat , who asked the question:

How do you feel about love scenes? As a reader, are you put off by the gratuitous? As a writer, do you shy away from spelling out the down-and-dirty? Or do you write until your computer lights a cigarette?

Hey, I think anybody can get giddy reading a steamy scene, right? On the other hand, I’m apt to skip an over the top explicit romp in the sack if I think it’s gratuitous or not really pertinent to the plot at hand.

As for my own writing, I don’t tend to get into the romance too deeply. Sure, the MC will have a crush and I enjoy writing the fun/flirty scene, but I don’t need to get into the kama sutra of what my characters are doing.

Margie posted on this before me and Shaun will be posting today too.

What about you? How far do you take your love scenes?

(photo credit)

 

24 comments on “BLOG CHAIN–Love Scenes

  1. I like for them to go all the way and give me something new each time!

  2. Lydia K says:

    I agree, though I think you put it far more cleverly than I would have. I also don’t get into the kama sutra of it either. Not my style.

    Congrats on your move!

  3. vixter2010 says:

    It depends on the target audience and the tone / style of the story I think i.e. Twilight the love scenes were tame but fitted in with the tone of the series, Sookie vampire stories are full of explicit sex but again match the style of the books so it doesn’t jar too much.

  4. I think when the writer successfully writes the magical oneness that exists between lovers, there is no need to engage the reader in the characters’ private expression of it. When I read a romance, I want to know there is deep love and desire between lovers, but I don’t want to join them in their personal union any more than I’d want to peek into anyone else’s bedroom. I believe it’s disrespectful. Once I realize that an author writes such scenes, I close the book and find another author’s work to read. Keep up the good writing, Laura. Blessings to you…

  5. Linda Gray says:

    I ‘always’ include sex scenes in my stories. I ‘never’ make them explicit. If I’ve done my job with the characters, what happens in readers’ minds will be hotter than anything I would put on the page. Having said that, though, I’d like to offer a nod to writers who write explicit sex scenes that totally make sense in the context of their novels. When those scenes are important for understanding the characters and are well-written, they can be great.

  6. […] started the blog chain, which I picked up from Laura and am passing on to you. The […]

  7. I agree with vixter2010. Since I write both YA and adult paranormal romance, I have to make sure whatever love scenes I write are appropriate. That said, I never write gratuitous love scenes. If it doesn’t flow naturally with the story line, it doesn’t belong.

  8. Akoss says:

    😡
    I … think I’ve never been nice to my character’s love lives… Oh Crap!!!
    I think I have a serious love scenes revisiting to do.

    On the bright side I’m a worshiper of romantic love scenes. 😀
    I remember raving about “XVI” and “Warped” because of the couples and their chemistry. 😀

    PS: Glad to see you’re surviving the move 🙂

  9. It depends on the characters. Often, if I do have sex scenes, it’s because they’re absolutely necessary and I try to explain it sensually instead of turning it into erotica. Essentially, I keep it PG-13 – R. No x ratings for me. (Of course, I can’t say I mind reading the latter.)

    ❤ Gina Blechman

  10. Linda says:

    I think the most erotic sex scenes are the ones that call on your imagination, not the ones that give you a blow-by-blow description. Sex scenes are laughable if they are conducted like a gynecology exam. Gratuitous sex is boring. Subtle and romantic is powerful.

  11. I think you and I feel the same way about love scenes. I like the photo!

  12. Nas says:

    I don’t mind reading erotic stuff but I draw the line at writing it. I write sensual scenes but can’t write erotic.

    http://www.nas-dean.blogspot.com

  13. Nas says:

    Forgot to mention…
    Thanks for dropping by my blog to support a fellow writer who is self-pubbed.
    And the taking part in the four book giveaway!

  14. So far I’ve only written YA, and none to date have sex in them. They get steamy, but not steamy as in adult romance kind of steamy. 😉

  15. Lynda Young says:

    I don’t write sex scenes. The most my characters do it allude to the act…and the occasioanl sizzler of a kiss.

  16. Ciara Knight says:

    I write YA so I don’t have too many love scenes. 🙂

  17. Faith says:

    I don’t write sex scenes… heck, I’m not even very good at writing basic romance. Definitely something to work on there… but sex scenes? Nope. And I don’t enjoy reading them. I’m not a prude (I’m married, so it’s not like sex is taboo), but the majority of the time it just doesn’t serve the story, so what’s the point?

  18. Yeah…the kama sutra would be too much. Not to mention the research involved! :-p

  19. Michelle H. says:

    It’s always depends on the target audience of the book, I believe. And whether the story needs a love scene, or a s.e.x. scene.

  20. Kari Marie says:

    I love the comment about the computer lighting a cigarette.

    I love a good love scene. I recently discovered I like writing them too. I only go into detail until I start to blush. Then I know I need to back off.

  21. Great answer! Love the picture you have at the bottom of the post too – it’s gorgeous and sexy;)

  22. yeah, I skim the over the top ones, and when there are several scenes in the same book (unless it’s one of those 1000 page whoppers) I skim them. Really they all read alike after a while 🙂 Great post, and love the picture!

  23. Kat says:

    This chain has been so much fun to follow. The comments on each post are awesome too. 🙂

  24. Cole Gibsen says:

    I’m with you. My characters rarely do more than makeout. Otherwise my cheeks would burn right off my face.

Leave a Reply

