Flake-out Friday–Inspiration


Some writers have so many ideas that their brains are literally bursting with plots, characters, new worlds, poignant metaphors, and unique worlds.

Others find inspiration from seemingly random objects.

An example (from icanhascheezburger.com):

funny pictures - Happy Chair is Happy: Stephen King's 'The Dark Mower' Series

Where does your inspiration come from? What’s the strangest thing or incident that sparked an idea?

14 comments on “Flake-out Friday–Inspiration

  1. vixter2010 says:

    Inspiration is def a funny one, so many things can spark it. I love getting inspiration from other books or things I see / read in books and films. I suppose life as a whole can give you inspiraiton especially when it gets really good or really bad!

  2. ciara knight says:

    That is a hard question.
    I wrote a synopsis that the idea was sparked by a neighbor who was so totally rude. She made a negative comment about my child with special needs. I called the story Wicked Whitney and Her Mass of Minnions. LOL It was a MG book. *bows head in shame* Some people do conflict – I write about it.

  3. Lynn Rush says:

    Oh boy. I can get inspired any time, any place. I do regularly use music to get me motivated. Something about the pounding bass and powerful lyrics to get the creative juices flowing. 🙂

  4. Vicki Tremper says:

    Obviously I’ve been inspired by my travels – 1 book set in Africa, another set in France. I’m also inspired by certain people in my life, or embarrassing moments from my past. Sometimes it helps to put it on paper and attribute it to a made-up character.

  5. Akoss says:

    I’m inspired by my cultural background and any random situation that might cross my path is likely to generate a book idea. Now the question is what idea is worth the sweat? 🙂
    Happy Friday!

  6. Stephanie McGee says:

    Inspiration is such a hard topic for me. I pull from everywhere–my dreams, research, etc. I once wrote a very long short story that was inspired by a storyline on a television show. I asked myself how two stalwart members of my faith would end up in that situation. That was a fun one to write.

  7. Carol Riggs says:

    Great question! I’ve gotten ideas from dreams, veer-off ideas from movies, real life situations, real life but adding a magical twist like time travel. Asking yourself WHAT IF? 🙂

    Happy New Ideas!

  8. Linda Gray says:

    For me it’s all about the chance to live with characters I love, who deal with the ups and downs of life in their own messy ways. Personal challenges/trauma/tragedy tend to be the underlying inspirations, even though the stories don’t relate those things directly (and even though I don’t figure that out until much later!)

  9. My inspiration for writing comes from life experiences, relationships, including my relationship with Jesus. Sometimes looking at something in nature, trees especially, inspires me to write. I cannot explain this. Blessings to you…

  10. Hi, Laura,

    My latest novel was sparked from a dream. I only remember on thing about it. A blind gardener.

    It’s my ABNA entry. I have an excerpt of THE BLINDED GARDENER at my blog if you’d like to take a peak. IT is very edgy so be prepared.

    HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND.

    Your fellow crusader, Michael

  11. Lydia K says:

    I get inspiration from all sorts of places, but generally, I don’t go looking for it. It finds me!

    And btw, that lawnmower looks like it’s already committed a few felonies.

  12. This post is about me, I knew it. I have so many things hit me at all different random times all the time…every day. I get character names, story lines, plots …everything when I am driving. When I see signs. Street signs, stores, billboards. Anything. Different things jump out at me.

    Places jump into my mind like settings as I am driving through places too. So I guess I am hit the hardest with everything when I am driving.

  13. roguemutt says:

    Most of my ideas come on the toilet, which probably explains something.

  14. Kari Marie says:

    I got an idea for a character name from an email address. Now I have a whole cast of characters and in the planning stages of my next novel.

Leave a Reply

