Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–Writing Confession


This month, Lydia asks the question:

“In my writing, I have never______” or, in reverse if you so choose, “In my writing, I always______”

In my writing, I always:

  • Get totally obsessed with an idea and spend every waking moment trying to develop it.
  • Often get totally ahead of myself and fall headlong into Titanic-sized plot holes.
  • Love what I write one minute and hate what I write the next.
  • Focus too much on the negatives and feel tempted to either rewrite or move onto a new project.
  • Work on one project at a time. (My attention, when divided, just doesn’t work.)
  • Find a breakthrough a milisecond before I throw in the towel and quit “for good.”
  • Consider crit partner feedback before making a decision.

Ok, gang, in *your* writing, what do you always or never do?

Be sure to stay tuned for Lydia’s response next week, followed by Sarah’s and then Deb’s!

 

23 comments on “Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–Writing Confession

  1. Trisha says:

    I always write too much. For the rest of it, there isn’t much I can say “I always” about, because it seems to vary from project to project.

    Fun post 🙂

  2. vixter2010 says:

    I always worry it’s no good 🙂

  3. I always write a really bad rough draft. Really bad. I have to live with the fact that re-writes are a part of my writing process.

  4. Good questions to think about!

    I always consider feedback from my critique partners before I submit my work.

    I always have a breakthrough just when I was about to submit it.

    I never start at the end of a story (although that might change one day).

    I never feel like I’ve had enough time to work on it at the end of the day.

  5. Charli Mac says:

    I love what I write then doubt it the next. As writers we are our own worst enemy!

  6. Vicki Tremper says:

    What a useful question to ask ourselves to help us keep good writing habits and break bad writing habits. I always write out lots of plot and character notes before making an outline, and I always make an outline, and I always find other things to make notes on to procrastinate actually starting to write.

  7. Indigo says:

    These two:

    “Focus too much on the negatives and feel tempted to either rewrite or move onto a new project.”

    “Find a breakthrough a milisecond before I throw in the towel and quit “for good.”

    Especially the last. In my case if writing isn’t hard, I’m doing something wrong. The things that come easy are usually the turbulent changes later on. (Hugs)Indigo

  8. Lydia K says:

    I definitely can only do one project at a time. I can’t multitask with fiction!
    Great responses Laura!

  9. Love that list. I always start to second guess myself.

  10. I have a tendency to focus too much on story and not enough on characters until the second draft. Makes rewrites painful.

    I also consider crit partner feedback before making a decision.

  11. Ciara Knight says:

    I so relate to the Titanic-sized plot holes. LOL

  12. Linda Gray says:

    Great question, and great responses, too. The first thing that popped into my mind was a writing ‘hot topic.’ Sex scenes. In my writing, I always include sex scenes. BUT, in my writing, I never make the sex scenes explicit. (I don’t write YA)

  13. I spend too much time picking just the right word only to change it my next trip through. Ha! Blessings…

  14. Madeleine says:

    Ah yes the dilemma of the writer’s ego. I know it well. :O)

  15. Oh, dear! Your third point belongs to me. 😉

  16. Lynn Rush says:

    I always ask God, “Okay, how should we write this?”
    I always write a really crappy first draft.
    I always doubt my skill as a writer at least fifty times while writing the novel.

    This was a fun post!!

  17. I always do research. I always preplan first. I always wonder what the heck I’m doing. 😉

  18. roguemutt says:

    I always make broad generalizations.

  19. Zoe says:

    Hey, Laura! Thanks for popping round my blog the other day and saying hello 🙂 This post sounds like my own emotional writing roller coaster. Especially the “love it one day, hate it the next” one! But I’m still at it, by Jove 😀

  20. When I write fantasy, most of my books need research. I like faraway places.

    Even in my contemporary I usually set the characters in different states from where I live… more research.

    After that I begin the writing process and kind of whip through it.

    On my second novel, I knew the first draft read pretty smoothly. I am on the fourth run through now.

    Crit partners are a MUST. They ALWAYS help me fine tune my writing.

  21. I always get myself cozy when I write. Lots of times, I’ll snuggle up with my laptop and some tea and some crackers or trail mix or something and just keep going until I can’t sit still anymore.

  22. Hi Laura! How are you doing? I hope great! ❤

    I always stick to one book until I'm done. The thing is, that I don't take it all the way to the editing process. I have 8 books that need editing for submission. Eeek!

    I always need quiet while I create or edit. I can't do it with music or television.

    🙂

    Thanks for such a lovely post! *hugs*

    ♥.•*¨ Elizabeth ¨*•.♥

  23. Karen Lange says:

    I think this is a great way to look at many things. I’m planning on doing it to help define some priorities and refine a project or two. 🙂

Leave a Reply

