Mental Health Monday AND a Blog Crusade Challenge!


Hi all! I joined Rachel Harrie’s Blog Crusade Challenge and (though I’m behind in meeting all the people who’ve joined) it’s been a blast getting to know bloggers from around the globe. On Friday, Rachel posted her first challenge to us crusaders, and I’d like to share my response…

The Challenge

In 300 words or less, tell us:

  • · one secret
  • · one lie
  • · one interesting quirk
  • · one annoying habit
  • · one of your best character traits, and
  • · one of your favourite things in the whole world.

The post can be in any format, including poetry (for those poets among us), but must include the random words, “bloviate,” “fuliguline,” “rabbit,” and “blade” (tee hee).

Okay, I’m not one to bloviate, so I’ll get right to the point. I used to own fuliguline type birds, but traded them in for rabbits because they were too hard to breed. As far as quirks, well, I collect swords…one of them even has a sharp blade, but I don’t think it’s supposed to (it’s a collector item, not a *real* weapon, for goodness sake!). My best character trait is listening to others, but I can be totally flaky (which, I suppose, is an annoying habit). One of my favorite things is watching lightning streak across the sky (preferably at night).

Now, I may have revealed something about me that isn’t strictly true, can you guess what it is?

**********

As February comes to a close, I’d like to remind everyone that if you have a psychiatry related question (as it pertains to writing), please don’t hesitate to contact me, either through the comments, or via Twitter or Facebook.

For psych related questions, psychologist, blogger, and YA writer, Sarah Fine, and I can lend our mental health expertise.

For medical related questions, physician, blogger, and YA writer, Lydia Kang, is just as happy to lend her medical expertise.

Keep in mind these posts/topics are for writing purposes only and are NOT meant to be medical advice or treatment.

All we ask is that you follow our blogs. In return, we’ll answer your question and link back to your blog.

Happy writing!

24 comments on “Mental Health Monday AND a Blog Crusade Challenge!

  1. Congrats for getting the challenge done in so few words! Ooh, and I love your fav thing! It’s one of mine too 🙂 Ok, I’m thinking… you didn’t own fuliguline type birds and trade them in for rabbits?

  2. Ciara Knight says:

    I’m guessing your lie is breeding rabbits. Great answers! 🙂

  3. Lydia K says:

    Not the rabbits! But the swords do sound interesting…
    Glad you’re on the crusade!

  4. Misha says:

    Hmmm… Since no one mentioned it, I’ll guess that you hate lightning.

    🙂

  5. Charli Mac says:

    Ahh, so there it is. You collect swords. Angelina Jolie does too. Are you her? Part of her cult?

    LOL. Loved getting to know you better this way.

  6. Great post! Well done on getting all those words in. Umm… Your lie is that you traded in the birds for rabbits because rabbits were easier to breed?

  7. Akoss says:

    I wonder if your lie is you’ve never owned fuliguline type birds?

  8. Marieke says:

    Love it 🙂 I’m hoping ducks/rabbits is the lie… because I really don’t know many other people who collect swords and that would be awesome 😀

    LOVE your mental health Mondays ❤

  9. onceupona says:

    It does seem rather convenient that you owned sea duck… so I’m guessing that’s a lie and possibly the rabbit too although that is plausible. By the way I subscribed to your blog and am commenting as ‘onceupona’ because that is my WordPress blog but I write at http://conch-to-be.blogspot.com/ and that is how you’ll find me on Rachael’s list! Cheers! Danette

  10. Shelley Batt says:

    Being a psychiatrist I’m going to say you don’t get to the point. I feel they tend to let the client to find the point.

    Hello fellow crusader and a fellow group 3 member over to finally meet you.

    Can’t wait to see the answer for you lie.

  11. I’m making the rounds today, but I still have lots! (yay) to get through. I love the story…though I’m guessing the flaky part is the lie….

    Fellow crusader, swinging by to say hi, and follow so I don’t miss anything!
    The Survival Mama

  12. I believe your lie is that you collect sharp swords.

    Nice to meet another crusader!

  13. Donna Hole says:

    Being consise is not my strong suit. I tend to bloviate 🙂 Except, I didn’t look up the words and so didn’t use them in the right context for my excerpt. Well, I didn’t totally write about myself for this challenge. Hmm, maybe I’m Challenge challenged.

    I do have a psychiatry related question though.

    One of my MC is BiPolar. Not the full blown, manic activity type. I did some research, and think the DSM 4 refered to it as BiPolar II. He’s never taken any regular meds, but does self medicate with meth.

    I have a period of time in the novel that covers about 18 months where he neither uses or has an episode. Completely normal on his own. Is this plausible?

    Well ok, one more question. In one of his drug runs, he is convinced by his family to go to the family doctor (he has an intense distrust and dislike for them for himself). I’ve written the scene with him completely delusional, and the doctor tries to give him a shot of Haloperidol to calm him enough to get him into a treatment facility. He bolts of course, but I’m wondering if the medication would have accomplished it purpose or would have made the situation worse?

    Thanks for considering my questions.

    ……….dhole

  14. Vicki Tremper says:

    Sooo funny. I hope you really do collect swords because I’d love to know someone personally who does that. I think the ducks and rabbits thing is plausible for an animal lover and I know you have a cat.

    Fun post!

    Someday I’ll ask a Mental Health Monday question for my WIP – has to do with amnesia.

    Cheers.

  15. Indigo says:

    I’m weighing in on the swords, more than the rabbits.

    I love watching a lightning storm. You have all the ominence and threat, moving closer and closer. Of course, it’s far more comforting to watch from within the safety of home. (Hugs)Indigo

  16. Sari Webb says:

    Hmm.. I’m going to go with the raising ducks too. It’s a tricky one.

    I don’t have any mental health questions at the moment, but I will be sure to ask if I think of one :).

  17. Danyelle says:

    Very fun! I’m thinking it’s the rabbits. >:)

  18. lenny lee says:

    hi! that was a neat post. for me im thinking you didnt never raise birds or rabbits mostly cause of having a cat. collecting swords is soooo cool. we got a old samuri one my brother got from when he was in japan. its so cool. that lightening on the night sky is pretty neat.
    …smiles from lenny

  19. Catherine Johnson says:

    That is so fun to read! Nice one.

  20. Laura, is there such a thing as fuliguline type birds? Huh? Is there? I’m thinkin’ you told us a whopper with that one. I mean, is fuliguline even a word?? Glad you’re on the crusade, pal. 🙂

  21. Alison says:

    I’m going with the swords. 🙂

    Nice to meet you! I’m a fellow crusader.

  22. LadyJai says:

    Hello fellow crusader! I am a tad bit late, the whole house has been sick all week. So, I just thought I would pop in and just say Hi! 😀

    Seems, I read your reveal before this blog 😛

  23. Regina says:

    I think that you didn’t own fuliguline birds and trade them for rabbits. Have a great day from a fellow crusader.

  24. Faith says:

    Oooh, I collect swords too! I don’t have many yet, but you have to start somewhere. I hope to display mind on the wall in the near future.

Leave a Reply

