Flake-out Friday–Trying Something New


On January 1st, I joined a group of writers and poets who committed to sharing poetry with one another throughout the year. Some ponied up and vowed to write a poem daily, while others opted to share a poem once a month. I took the moderate road, and promised to post one poem a week.

It’s been SO much fun! And let me tell you, these people are *Talented* with a capital T.

Confession: I’ve read some poetry over the years, but do not claim to be an expert, and let me tell you, writing it is challenging! I feel like a newbie writer all over again, LOL!

And I use humor to deal with feelings of inadequacy, so…

 

Savage Chickens - Love Poem

(I’m pretty much waiting for one of the other group members to give me this response. LOL!)

23 comments on “Flake-out Friday–Trying Something New

  1. Doris says:

    LOL …I love those chickens!

    Doris

  2. Misha says:

    Lol I love the chicken comics.
    ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Ciara Knight says:

    Too funny. I’m sure your poems are awesome. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Chickens. Perfect. I’m with Ciara. I’m sure your poetry is wonderful.

  5. Lynn Rush says:

    LOVE this. Thanks for the giggle on this early Friday morning!

  6. Embodiment of a writers worse fear. But, also very funny presented this way. I’m gonna have to check out that website for more laughs.

  7. Regina says:

    I’m still laughing and my co-workers are giving me the stink eye. I like it a lot. I wanted to stop by and say Hi. I am a new follower and fellow crusader. Have a great weekend.

  8. I write poetry, and I’m an amateur, too. I don’t worry about it. I think of it like prose, and mine almost is. Anyway, write and be happy. I love the cartoon! Blessings to you, Laura…

  9. Paul Greci says:

    Writing in a different form can really open creative pathways. If we’re lucky sometimes we might find a vat of chocolate at the end of a path. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Well how can we tell if you don’t post some poetry?? ๐Ÿ™‚ Fellow crusader, new follower, loves poetry but doesn’t know enough to be critical ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Carol Riggs says:

    Hiya, buddy crusader! I’m making the rounds today and checking out your blog. Nice to meet you, and Happy Friday! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Artzicarol Ramblings

  12. I’m a Crusader stopping by to say hello.

    I used to write a lot of poetry. I found everything poetic that comes out of me is dark, I’m not sure why.

    Good luck with your poetry!

  13. lexcade says:

    LOL cute. Kudos to you for trying something new. Poetry is HARRRRRD.

  14. roguemutt says:

    I vowed to come up with a poem once in my life.

  15. Shelley Batt says:

    This made me laugh. Probably because if I wrote poetry it would sound like that. Ha Ha. We are in the same group of the Crusaders so I’m here to say hi.

  16. I needed the grin you put on my face. Now my poetry would probably make you think I was still in KINDEGARTIN. *wink*

  17. Laura, I didn’t realize my hubby had logged in with his business blog. SHOOT. But that was my comment for campbell’spumpsalesandservice. (Didn’t want you to think it was spam.) (((hugs)))

  18. Chantele says:

    I wish I could write poetry, but sadly, I cannot. I’ll stick to YA. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s nice to meet you fellow crusader!

  19. Madeline says:

    Hey fellow crusader! That’s awesome to see your write poetry, I do to! I try to write a poem everyday. I find poetry comes easy since it doesn’t necessarily make sense, but that doesn’t mean it comes out good everyday. I’m sure yours is awesome! ๐Ÿ˜€

  20. Francesca says:

    I do love me those chickens. And your courage is wonderful!

  21. I’m another Crusader checking in. Loved the Chicken Toon ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. Tony Benson says:

    Hi there. Greetings from a fellow crusader. The cartoon made me laugh, but I’m sure it doesn’t apply ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. Susanna says:

    Hi there – fellow crusader stopping by to say hi and follow. I love that you’re “the kind of person who laughs out loud at something that happened yesterday”! That is so me, too! Looking forward to getting to know you via your blog ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

