Mental Health Monday–Valentine’s Day Edition


It’s Valentine’s Day, which means fancy restaurants are booked for romantic dinners, long stem roses are sold by the dozen, and boxes of chocolate are all red and heart-shaped…gah!

I’m not a sappy sap, so all this pink plush teddy bear, sparkly jewelry in velvet lined boxes, and flowers that last maybe five days tops symbolism is lost on me. Don’t get me wrong, I love flowers and jewelry, but the Spontaneous Just Because Gift is *so* much better than a contrived, Hallmark Holiday one.

Am I a cynic?

Probably.

But I also enjoy a little humor, so without further ado, here’s some Valentine’s Day fun (courtesy of Savage Chickens by Doug Savage).

 

And, to give it the Mental Health Monday spin, I had to highlight the musings of a post-it sized Carl Jung. *grin*

Savage Chickens - Carl Jung Valentine

 

Also, any reference to Hannibal Lector is just the TOPS!

Savage Chickens - Valentine

Now this is more like it! Hahaha!

Savage Chickens - Love Potion

Don’t forget to check out Lydia’s post on Medical Monday and Sarah’s psychology related post!

20 comments on “Mental Health Monday–Valentine’s Day Edition

  1. Doris says:

    hahahaha I love those savage chickens… hilarious!

    Nonetheless, Happy Valentine’s Day! 😀

    Doris

  2. Bahaha, thanks for the laugh, Laura. Love this!

  3. Sarah says:

    Nothing like an irreverent Valentine’s Day post, Laura. Thanks for this!

  4. Ciara Knight says:

    Thanks for the laugh, Laura. Have a great Valentine’s day. 🙂

  5. Kerri Cuevas says:

    Ha ha that was hilarious!
    Happy Valentine’s –watch out for the meat eating chickens 😉

  6. LOL – love it!

    We don’t give each other traditional presents. This year my husband made my fave cookies (French macarons) in flavors that I picked out (choc earl grey and coconut passionfruit).

    Happy Monday!

  7. LOL!! Happy Valentines – all year round.

  8. Hart says:

    *falls over* EXACTLY my kind of Valentines. I am so with you on a low sap tolerance.

  9. Great humor. I love the sweet lady chicken mortified by the menu offering plates of her body parts with little hearts (like hers) to decorate. Blessings to you, Laura…

  10. Thanks for the giggles. 🙂

  11. Lydia K says:

    I thought you’re only supposed to make me laugh on Fridays!

    These were awesome!

  12. Summer Ross says:

    These were great! Thanks for sharing them with us!

  13. Lynn Rush says:

    LOVE THIS! Where do you find these things? LOL!

  14. E.C. Smith says:

    So funny! Thanks for the laugh and a big wave to a fellow crusader. Looking forward to getting to know you.

  15. Donna Hole says:

    Yeah; I’m there too. But I’ve been known to appreciate a heart shaped pink box on the rare occasion I get them 🙂

    Love the chickens. “Overwhelmed with feelings of ambivalence”. Too cool.

    ………dhole

  16. E.C. Smith says:

    Hi Laura…fellow crusader here popping in again to let you know you’ve been given the Stylish Blogger Award. Check out my blog ecsmithramblings.blogspot.com/ to get all the details.

    Cheers!

  17. That first one was great! My brother is a psychologist and the’ll love that.

    Wanted to say hello from the crusade! Following.
    Edge of Your Seat Romance

  18. Gina Blechman says:

    Haha, cute. Gotta love that jungian humour.

    I don’t think it’s cynical at all to prefer spontaneity to hallmark. It’s easy to follow what everybody else does and go along for the same-old thoughtless v-day gifts. I think it really says something about the person you’re with if they’re willing to do something different and special, just for you. That’s what we’re all looking for, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

