WIP Wednesday…


(In this case, the WIP is my house.)

So. The renovations on Dream House have started.

Once the new roof is finished, I (read: the contractor) can start re-plastering the water-damaged ceilings and patching over the holes in the dry wall. Fresh dry wall means painting needs to be done. After that (as concurrent floor and bathroom tile cleaning continues), the furniture and belongings can be transported from my apartment to the house. In the spring, I can fix the fireplaces, french doors, the siding, and landscaping.

(You know, small projects. )

To capture the state of things, I present to you a clip from a very popular movie. (Cross your fingers Pray vehemently that it doesn’t, in fact, get this bad for me.) Enjoy!

You just never know what you’ll find in old houses, no matter how grand they are.

Be sure to check out Lydia’s response this week for the Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog’s topic of CRITIQUING.

16 comments on “WIP Wednesday…

  1. Ciara Knight says:

    I’m so excited and scared for you. I LOVED that movie so much I probably watched it twenty times. 🙂

  2. Tracy says:

    Oh my gosh, I used to LOVE watching the Money Pit!! IMO, it’s Tom Hanks best movie after Forrest Gump. Now, I really want to go watch it. I’m going to have to go check on Amazon to see if I can’t buy myself a copy on DVD. Have they ever even realeased it on DVD??

    That being said, I really hope your renovations are NOTHING like that. LOL

  3. I loved The Money Pit, too. May all those problems stay far away from you.

  4. Charli Mac says:

    My three story victorian is a never-ending project. Good luck. Love my house though. Will love it more when it’s done.

  5. I love this movie. Good luck with the renovations.

  6. Great clips! Ha! I love the way Tom Hanks laughed so outrageously when the bath tub dropped through the floor! I am sure things will go much better at your new home. Blessings to you, Laura…

  7. Talli Roland says:

    Good luck good luck good luck! Sending lots of good home vibes your way!

  8. Nikki says:

    “The Money Pit” one of my favorite movies! Sadly because I relate too well to it. In the middle of a ten year remodel! Good luck to you.

  9. Lynn Rush says:

    Oh gosh. Your house won’t turn into the money pit! I didn’t like that movie much. Mostly because of Shelly Long. But it did have its funny parts. LOL. 🙂

  10. lexcade says:

    Oh wow. Good luck sweetie. If it’s any consolation, my parents have been “remodeling” their house for the last 15 years… I have the feeling you won’t be going through that. Your house is a lot better built and sturdier than theirs.

    Just think about the awesome parties you’ll be having come summer!

  11. And once you’re finished, you can work on my house. 😀

    (please!!!!!!!)

  12. Indigo says:

    Three (or was it four) years ago, I hired a contractor to do numerous small jobs on our house. Remember me saying not to accept the first quote no matter how good it sounds? Here’s why – they worked for a week, scheduling small jobs a few hours a day (which meant they weren’t going to finish everything by the deadline they’d given us). After only a week they reported, they would be going on vacation and repairs would resume when they returned.

    The following week, with no contractors around (gone on vacation) – my front steps collapsed, the faucet fell off the tub spraying water everywhere, and the living room ceiling began to fall down in huge chunks). That’s only the gist of it, far more would go wrong before this ended. Two months later (everything was supposed to be done in 3 weeks), I had just painted both the living room and dining room (connected by an open arch), when I felt water leaking on my head, down comes the living room ceiling.

    The same ceiling that had been replaced two days earlier and painted. The dumb-nuts, drilled a hole through a main water pipe. So yeah, I’m hoping things go so much better for you. (Hugs)Indigo

  13. Arlee Bird says:

    I’ve never had to deal with any major home renovations but I would imagine it could be a nightmare. Good luck with that.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out and the Blogging From A to Z April Challenge 2011

  14. Lydia K says:

    Having a house is like having a kid–always in need of new things, constantly wreaking havoc, needs lots of TLC, and expensive.
    Congrats on your new mommyhood!

  15. congrats on the new house and love that you’ve sort of worked out a game plan. but make sure you build in some “just in case” time too. and definitely some “just do nothing” time. don’t let the stress of it all take away from the fun of the project!

    happy homeowning!

  16. That scene from the Money Pit is one of the funniest in cinematic history if you ask me. :=) Funny, but wouldn’t want to experience it myself. Blessings on your new home!

Leave a Reply

