BLOG CHAIN–Social Networking


Hey gang!

I’m a day late and a dollar short for this round of the blog chain (the house closing occupied my mind yesterday, LOL!) Anyway, I don’t wanna miss in the fun, so I’m posting about the topic today.

Amanda asks:

Are you a good social networker? What aspect of platform building do you focus on the most? Which aspects freak you out?

I do engage in social networking via Facebook, Twitter, some forums, and, of course, my blog. In the beginning, I was quite obsessed with the whole thing, checking and rechecking every few minutes to see if someone had added something to their status or Tweeted a link to an interesting post or contest.

With time comes familiarity and when the “sexiness” of interwebz wore off, I returned to real life things. Don’t get me wrong, I still spend a good amount of time on FB, Twitter, reading blogs, and working on blog posts, but in a smarter way. Maybe an hour a day, two tops, depending on how much “down time” I get.

I gotta say, though, jumping into the intangible waters of the electronic ocean has been *so* worth it. I’ve “met” my crit partners, beta readers, and uber-supportive writerly buds through social media and without them, I would’ve learned next to nothing about writing.

Now, am I *good* at social networking? Hmmm, I think I get done what I need to, so in that regard, yeah, I’m pretty good. I’m quite pleased with how my blog is progressing…it’s been a slow road developing a “followship,” but I think it’s coming along.

As far as a platform? Well, I wouldn’t say I’ve got that…perhaps with more time the blog will continue to grow. If When I get an agent, I’ll launch a website. If When I sell a book, well, maybe I’ll call up Oprah (Ahahahahahahaha!!!)

(Just kidding about the Oprah thing, by the way.)

What freaks me out is: What if this writing thing *really* takes off and I get an agent, and a book deal, and I–gasp!–have to do a book signing or reading, like, in front of people! (Ah, the bane of introverts–public speaking. Sigh.) The good news is that I can do public speaking pretty well…I just don’t like to do it, LOL!

Alrighty, folks, how are you with social networking? How have you developed your platform?

Check out Margie’s post from the other day and Shaun’s post (today) for more info on others’ approaches to social networking and platform building.

13 comments on “BLOG CHAIN–Social Networking

  1. Misha says:

    Me? I pretty much started blogging. I used to link to my Facebook profile, but no one was paying attention.

    So I went in search of blogs in the same vein as mine and started following. I only got twitter recently…

    Time will tell if it will help.

    As for platform, it’s still way too small to think of it that way.

    I might consider referring to my following as a platform when I reach 1500 followers or 1000 hits a day… Whichever happens first.

    🙂

  2. Ciara Knight says:

    I began blogging late last year and I’ve loved it. Facebook is great, but I recently began tweeting. 🙂 I feel like Regis! I’m never sure what hash marks to use. LOL
    The cyber buddies I’ve met made this journey worth every second. My fave is still the blogging world.
    BTW – Good luck with the house closing. Let us know when you are in. Oh, and we want pictures!

  3. […] If you haven’t yet read Amanda’s post, head over to her blog. Laura’s tips are next. Check her out here. […]

  4. Shaun Hutchinson says:

    I agree with the sexiness of it wearing off. When I began, I think I blogged every day. Sometimes twice. Now…not so much.

  5. I’m enjoying social networking. I’ve learned a lot about writing that I wouldn’t have without it. As for my platform, I just do what I do. I’m not sure it will ever be a platform, but it is what it is. I am comfortable with it.

    I enjoy your blog, Laura. Keep up your good work. Blessings to you.

  6. The Internet makes social networking so much easier for introverts like us!

  7. You know the part that freaks you out? That totally freaks me out too! Cos I agree with Sandra here – the internet is great for us introverts, but doing something Out There… scary!

  8. Well, if you didn’t engage in all of that social networking, I wouldn’t “know” you – so, yay!

    I blog and tweet for writing and keep facebook for my family and friends. That may change someday, but it works for now.

  9. Blogging is a love/hate thing for me. I enjoy it but it’s easy for me to throw to the bottom of my To Do list. And building a following takes time and dedication, both of which can fall off if real life decides to throw you a monkey wrench. I can definitely say that some of the social networking luster has faded from when I first started, but I do still enjoy it.

  10. Great post! I think you’re a great networker! 🙂

  11. Kat says:

    I’ve met so many other writers and professionals online who have helped nudge me in the right direction. The relationships you form with other like-minded people through social networking is worth the time.

    Great post!

  12. Cole Gibsen says:

    I totally agree with you. I found the reality under the sparkles. It’s daunting and it’s work. Hopefully, though, it will all pay off in the end.

  13. Great response. You strike me as much better at this “platforming” thing than others. Maybe it’s an just strong projection of confidence coming from you, but that’s what I see.

Leave a Reply

