Flake-out Friday–My Proposal for Edits to Huckleberry Finn


Wow, so you’ve heard all the buzz about deleting the “n” word and replacing it with the word “slave” in Mark Twain’s Huckleberry Finn, right?

I loathe getting into debates, so I won’t share my opinion…ok-i-will! I think we have to be really careful about changing things, especially classics. Mark Twain wrote this novel in a tough political environment. He used the term on purpose. Furthermore, if it’s this easy to alter something from our past, what’s stopping us from adapting “Newspeak” and going all “1984” and “Big Brother?”

In the spirit of Flake-out Friday, I pose to you:

If we really are thinking about altering Mark Twain’s text, why not consider the following version instead?

Huck Finn in 4 Minutes

Alrighty, whaddya think?

15 comments on “Flake-out Friday–My Proposal for Edits to Huckleberry Finn

  1. Tessa Conte says:

    OMG can I just say

    THAT WAS AWWWWSOME!

    *shakes head*

    geez people are weird.

  2. vtremp says:

    Ha ha ha ha ha ha aha *snort* ha ha ha *snort* *giggle*.

    Okay, seriously, I agree that by changing Twain’s text we’re changing a little piece of history. We need his words to remind us of how far we’ve come – and how far we still have to go.

    Vicki

  3. Ciara Knight says:

    Wow, to change a classic book. That is DISTRUBING! This was so hysterical I had to share it on Facebook and Twitter. 🙂 Have ag reat Friday!!

  4. lbdiamond says:

    I watched this like 3 times in a row and laughed just as hard each time.

    “ride the raft, ride the raft!!!” hahahaha!

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting, Tessa, Vicki, and Ciara!

    It is disturbing changing someone’s work and the words they chose.

    I wonder, is it just as disturbing that I chose humor as my forum to “protest” such a thing? 😉

  5. Charli Mac says:

    So are we gonna change Shakespeare to modern language and terminology?

    Yo, Romeo…Where the frig you at?

    Yo, Juliet…you’re all hot and stuff. Wanna make out?

    See, not exactly the same now is it?

    Huck Finn is an American Classic and needs to be left alone. It is a stark portait of the sins of our past and has moments where the human spirit triumphs.

    It is what it was. Why change it?

  6. Charli Mac says:

    Oh, and I love the Spirderman Lego in the audience. Classic. Hysterical.

  7. I thought what you think the moment I heard that silly suggestion. How ridiculous. We need to remember how badly our black neighbors were mistreated and also that some people loved and appreciated them. The truth. We also need to know how things really were in that time, not how they should have been. Are we going to deny history? Hearing this term used in the book should cut us to the heart every time we read it. Oh, no, that’s too hard on us. Let’s change it.

    Talk about censorship! A classic, yet! When I think of the things people want to protect from censorship and then hear of this, I find it hard to believe. Look at the language people use in some literature! They call it art and protect it vehemently. Rrrrr!

    The video was hilarious. Blessings to you…

  8. I see new copyright laws being written in the near future. Once, I’m dead, if someone were to re-write my works, I’m haunting them. So beware future society of censorship, I’m vengeful.

  9. Lydia K says:

    Anything done with Legos is good in my book!

  10. Lynn Rush says:

    HA…that’s funny. How do people think up these things? LOL.

    Happy Friday. Have a great weekend.

  11. lbdiamond says:

    Charli–LOL! Yo, yo, whaz up?

    Carol–Infuriating, isn’t it?

    Rachel–I’m already shakin’ in my boots, LOL!

    Lydia–the lego skits are cute!

    Lynn–thanks for stopping by!

  12. Emily C. Sims says:

    That video was hilarious!! I don’t know which is funnier… the video itself or that someone took the time to make it 😉

  13. lexcade says:

    LOL. there needs to be a series of LEGO classics like this. i’m so not joking.

  14. Donna Hole says:

    “RIde the raft; ride the raft!” LOL, too funny.

    *sighs* If we change the wording in classic literature – or just plain “old” novels and memoirs – then who’s to say our terminology today won’t be edited in years to come to make the story fit politically THEN.

    My son was upset one day b/c I wouldn’t let him use a certain “s” curse word while playing X-box live. So he asks; “Can I say bloody instead?”

    My answer was “NO”, because it means the same thing, even if it is more acceptable to society. It is not a word or phrase that is bad, it is the context it is used. Changing one word to another doesn’t change the context.

    In order for that one “n” word not to be associated with whatever word is substituted, the entire novel concept would need to be changed into something politically correct.

    Think of the social and political works being produced now that stimulate debate and deeper thoughts. Will they change society so drastically with their message that 100, or 60 or even 20 years in the future they will need to be edited to reflect the new awareness?

    ………dhole

  15. Kerri says:

    Ha Ha Ha! That was funny as heck….ride the raft, ride the raft!

    It’s a sad day when they want to change text to appeal to modern social standards. Mine as well change history while their at it.

Leave a Reply

