Review of The Boys Upstairs by Jane Lebak


I “met” Jane over a year ago through the forum at QueryTracker.net. She always gave direct and succinct feedback, with a healthy dose of much needed humor on the side. Along the way, she offered me sound advice on my technique and I have to say it has stuck with me these many months.

So, when I had the oppotunity to read her novella, The Boys Upstairs, I could barely keep my curiosity and excitement at bay. And, true to her word, Jane delivered. Not only is this novella a poignant and pertinent example of today’s “issues” (not only on a societal level, but a religious and even personal one), it’s a LOVELY story! Jane’s writing style is clear and descriptive at the same time, so much so that I felt drawn into each scene. I couldn’t help but feel for the characters. Bravo, Jane!

I’d recommend this novella to anyone searching for a redeeming holiday story encased in the grit of a contemporary world. 

Here’s a link to the publisher’s site: Museit Up Publishing (The link offers a product description and an excerpt of Jane’s novella!)

Here’s a link to Jane’s website: http://janelebak.com/

Here’s a link to Jane’ blog: Philangelus (Seven angels, four kids, one family)

Jane is also the author of Seven Archangels: Annihilation and has written several short stories (details are available on her website)!

Be sure to check out the QueryTracker blog as well where Jane contributes posts frequently!

**********

It’s Wednesday! That means Lydia has posted her response about social media confessions. Check it out!

Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog Chain 

9 comments on “Review of The Boys Upstairs by Jane Lebak

  1. That sounds wonderful! Thank you for sharing.

  2. Ciara Knight says:

    I love holiday stories! I’m gonna check this out. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Thank you for sharing. You have piqued my interest. Blessings to you…

  4. Kerri says:

    I love finding new books to read! Thanks Laura!

  5. Jackee says:

    This sounds like a great one. Thanks for sharing!

    Have a lovely day!

  6. Sounds interesting. Thanks for sharing.

  7. The Boys Upstairs sounds inspiring. Good to have uplifting stories once in a while! Best of luck to Jane.

    Laura, I posted over at Natasha’s blog–good interview!
    If you want to visit mine, it’s
    http://www.catherinestine.blogspot.com
    I usually talk about writing and books, but my latest post talks about gift ideas for writers!

  8. The Boys Upstairs is a brilliant novella! It made me laugh and cry – not because I was sad, but because the story is so powerful. Highly recommended!

  9. Lydia K says:

    A lovely, well written novella, just in time for the holidays. Great job, Jane!

Leave a Reply

