Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog AND Who’s Doing NaNoWriMo???


So, writerly peeps, who’s gonna do NaNoWriMo? Show of hands please.

I signed up and “won” last year by completing over 50,000 words of a manuscript within the month of November. What an exciting–and exhausting–endeavor.

This year? My goal is to PACE myself and take time with refining my craft. If that means spending six hours on one paragraph or thirty minutes writing ten pages, then so be it. Since my focus has shifted more to quality rather than quantity, I’m gonna sit out of NaNo. That doesn’t stop me from feeling the collective momentum of other writers gearing up for the great race of words.

So, good luck, dear friends! November 1st is only days away!!!

Please share whether or not you’re doing NaNo and what your focus for this next month is.

**********

Every Wednesday The sisterhood is on hiatus this week. We’ll return in November for another tour. Stay tuned!

17 comments on “Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog AND Who’s Doing NaNoWriMo???

  1. Ciara Knight says:

    I still haven’t decided. Yes, I know, only a couple days away. Last year I participated and won, but November is one of the worst months of the year for word count. Too many school holidays. LOL
    It was great last year but I’m like you. I want to produce more quality than quantity this year. Hmmm…

  2. randomyriad says:

    I am going to try again. Last year I did not get very far. It is so easy to be thrown off by life, work, and mood. I am still working on the novel I wrote for nanowrimo in 2007 when I was able to complete the 50,000 words but not the novel.

  3. Indigo says:

    I’m sitting out of NaNo. I honestly need to make some headway on the revisions for my current WIP. Hopefully I’ll see the results by the end of Nov. (Hugs)Indigo

  4. I’m like Indigo. I’d like to participate in NaNoWriMo, but I need to focus on my current WIP.

  5. I’m in. My user name is smua if you want to buddy me.

  6. Lynn Rush says:

    I’m all about NaNo. It’s so much fun. My first time was last year and I really enjoyed it. It really works with my style (free writing/SOTP).

    I’m LynnRush over there if anyone wants to buddy up. Sandra, I’ll come find you on NaNo.

  7. I won’t be doing NaNoWriMo. Whew! I will be doing the same things I usually do and loving it, that is, of course, unless something unexpected changes my plan. I admire those writers who are able to take the time and are willing to push forward with such gusto!

  8. I’m not officially participating because I’ve already started my new wip, and I’m away for 5 days. I’m with you, Laura. I strive for quality not quantity. 🙂

  9. Cinette says:

    I’m signed up for NaNo, but my goal isn’t to win it, but to get into flow, rather than following my neurotic tendencies of constantly revising the first 1000 words over and over until they’re perfect, and then revising them again.

  10. Lydia K says:

    My November is once again up for grabs! I thought I was going to revise but I haven’t decided yet.

  11. Arlee Bird says:

    I will be doing NaNo for the second year. I made it last year, but I still have finished the novel. My goal for November is to whip out another 50,000 words to have another novel that needs to be finished. Then after that I really need to finish off both of them.

    My NaNo name is wordleeness.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  12. I’m in! I’ve nearly finished my outline, so I should be ready to roll Monday morning.

    I am aiming for quality, though. If I don’t make 50k, my heart won’t be broken. 😉

  13. angela says:

    I’m spending the month in serious revision mode. But I’ll be cheering on everyone who does participate!

    Angela @ The Bookshelf Muse

  14. lbdiamond says:

    Looks like we’ve all got plans for November! Good luck to the NaNoers & good luck to the revisers!!!!

  15. J E Fritz says:

    I’m in. I have a good idea and I think it will be fun this year. Hope to see you there!

  16. Liz says:

    I’m doing NaNo this year (lizwritesbooks), and I’m actually kind of excited about it. I’m going back to YA after a few years in romance, so it’s a change, but a welcome one. My only goal is to have fun and see what happens. No whining, crying, or beating myself up. And also no procrastination, giving up, or switching projects halfway through.

  17. Lindsay says:

    I’m doing my first NaNo this year. Eep. Looking forward to it though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

