Mental Health Monday–Get Your Rest!


How many of you have wished you could take a nap at work? Show of hands, please. Come on, don’t be shy. We’ve all fallen prey to the afternoon slump, right?

Well, guess what? Companies just might be encouraging you to do just that in the near future (read that again–NEAR FUTURE. NOT now. NOW might get you fired because not all work places are jumping on the snoozefest bandwagon, ‘kay?).

Why would your boss tell you to take a nap? Sleepy employees are not productive employees. (Yikes, that sounded a little too, what’s the word, um, trite? Anyway…) Lack of sleep causes poor concentration, sluggish thinking, even heart disease. A short nap, on the other hand, improves memory, decision-making, concentration, and hell, it could even brighten your mood! (And that, folks, is the tie-in to Mental Health Mondays.)

Click here for the Yahoo article that triggered this post.

Click here for pics of a newfangled napping stations, called The EnergyPod (manufactured by MetroNaps, a company based in the UK and Australia). DISCLAIMER: I do NOT represent or endorse these companies. I just thought the info was interesting…and slightly disturbing.

The EnergyPod. Resistance. Is. Futile. *snarf*

Gosh, the things people come up with, eh? In all honesty, I think George from Seinfeld had the right idea. There’s really no need to get all fancy and stuff.

It’s hard to tell, but he’s under his desk.

Then again, some of his ideas weren’t always so great. Case in point. –>

Don’t forget to check out Lydia’s post on Medical Mondays!

14 comments on “Mental Health Monday–Get Your Rest!

  1. The pics make me laugh. It seems in this day of cutting back, downsizing, and making everyone do more than they’ve ever done it is hard to imagine an employer in this country (USA) happy with a napping employee. Who knows, though. However, I recall certain positions that required so many consecutive hours on the job that certain unique employees were allowed to sleep. Even they were not openly authorized to sleep, but sort of overlooked due to circumstances. Very interesting concept. Great post! Thank you for sharing.

  2. Charli Mac says:

    As soon as I saw the title I thought of Castanza. When I look under my desk and I think the same thing. Would anyone see me napping here?

    BTW, the last pic of Good old George, they hubby strikes that pose when he’s away and emails it to me. Makes me laugh everytime.

    I am moving to Spain, just for Siesta.

  3. Misha says:

    I usually don’t take afternoon naps, since I wake up more tired than when I was awake before and it messes with my sleeping patterns at night.

    Definitely a bad thing when I turn psycho due to sleep deprivation.

    Interesting post though.

    🙂

  4. Christine Fonseca says:

    You had me untl the George pics…hahahahahahahaQ!!!!!!!!!

  5. Okay, I SO need an EnergyPod!!

  6. Dominique says:

    Thanks for the info. I’ve never been a master at the napping thing, but this makes me feel a lot better about lying down in the afternoon. 🙂

  7. Lynn Rush says:

    Awesome. I heard about this on the news. I bet in the future this’ll be pretty common…naps at work.

    Great post!

  8. Jen Chandler says:

    Ok, those pictures made me giggle 🙂

    I’ve heard about companies encouraging employees to take naps, do yoga, take walks, etc.
    Unfortunately, I do not see the company I work for falling into this category. Even in the near future. *le sigh*

    Thanks for the comment on my blog the other day, by the way!

    Happy Monday,
    Jen

  9. Arlee Bird says:

    I agree with this idea for sure. When I was still employed I nearly always took an average of a 20 minute nap in the early afternoon (and that’s not why I lost my job). I was usually at work at 6 AM and would leave at 5:30 PM or later so I really needed that brief respite.
    Maybe it’s because I’m getting older, but even in my current state of unemployment I normally take a half hour nap each day.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  10. lbdiamond says:

    LOL! I laugh every time I see these pics! *giggle*

  11. I was enjoying the post until I saw the images of George in his underwear. It’ll take weeks to erase that image…

  12. Nap. Me love naps! Imagine a hammock in the break room?? Muahahah!

  13. Paul Greci says:

    George always cracks me up. He’s definitely a pro-napper.

  14. amie borst says:

    i’ve been feeling miserable all week and i just figured it was stress and lack of sleep. SEE! your post just prooves all i needed was a nap!

    oh – and i think you’ve got a total shot with TB! (oh wait – that sounds bad….for those of you reading this – that was NOT a medical reference!)

Leave a Reply

