BLOG CHAIN–Finding the Rewards in Challenges


Go to fullsize image

Eric started this round of the blog chain with a fabulous question:

What do you find to be the most challenging aspect of being a writer?  What is your greatest reward from writing?

This is a great question because sometimes the challenges seem to outweigh the rewards. Like a lot. So much, in fact, that I consider quitting from time to time. In reading previous posts, it’s clear I’m not the only one who has encountered this. Oddly enough, this is comforting. Why? Because EVERYBODY encounters road blocks, plateaus, and potholes. BUT, having supports and positive role models makes it MUCH easier.

My biggest challenge is maintaining confidence. Confidence that I DO have talent. Confidence that I CAN be competitive. Confidence that my words AREN’T gobbledygook and trite.

My biggest reward is having a great community of writerly peeps to turn to when the confidence well runs dry. Receiving spot on constructive feedback with a follow up, “You can do this!” gives me enough momentum to keep going.

Bonnie posted yesterday–click here in case you missed it. Check out Michelle’s post tomorrow.

14 comments on “BLOG CHAIN–Finding the Rewards in Challenges

  1. Lynn Rush says:

    Most challenging for me–self doubt. Always thinking, “I’m not a good enough writer.”

    Most rewarding for me–the writing community. I LOVE all the people I’ve met through this journey!

    Thanks for sharing this with us today. Have a great one and write on, my friend!

  2. Christine Fonseca says:

    Yep, I totally understand both your confidence thing (blogged about that one) and Lynn’s comment! Anytime you need a reminder that you are definitely good enough for this….EMAIL ME! ((hugs))

  3. Oh, confidence is such a bugbear. One minute you have it and the next it’s gone. But you are a very talented writer. Try not to let the doubt get the best of you.

  4. cole gibsen says:

    I completely agree. The worst is when you feel confident about something and then have someone rip you to shreds. I’m going through that right now and nothing makes you feel more like you don’t know what you’re doing than that 😦

  5. It can be difficult to continue writing in the face of all the challenges, but weathering them can help you build your confidence too. Keep going!

  6. elisajeglin says:

    Most challenging for me is fighting my dual personalities. One side of me constantly tells myself that my writing sucks and the other has so much faith it continues to tear down what I’ve written in the hopes my words will transfom into the ones buried deep in the back of my mind. Which then in turn makes me obssess, become overwhelmed and breakdown. Then I start all over again.

    I suppose what I enjoy most is, no matter where you are in your story, or your writing journey, you can walk away and when you’re ready to return, calm and refreshed, you can pick up where you left off, or start a whole new journy altogether. It’s all up to you.

  7. Do you ever wonder if people like Stephen King or JK Rowling wonder the same things? Do you think they have confidence issues? I like to think yes. I like to think of Rowling sitting at her little cafe in Scotland or wherever it was, drinking lattes and staring at her computer wondering if she’ll ever write anything as good as Harry Potter…thinking about giving up because maybe it was a fluke. If I imagine that great writers have the same fears as me, it makes it a little easier to swallow mine and get back to work, you know?

  8. Kat says:

    I understand. Completely.

  9. It’s funny how a few words of encouragement can change everything and keep us going. 🙂

  10. Yeah, I think we all contemplate quitting at some point or another. And it is nice to know that I’m not alone in this:)

  11. Yep, you’re surrounded by some cool writers (not myself of course, but there are others LOL). I’m right there with you though, regarding the confidence thing. If it weren’t for all the cool writers that help support me, I’d have probably quit right away. Great post.

  12. oh so true. The writing industry is a real confidence killer LOL But yeah, the community is just incredible. And great at helping to fix that confidence problem 😀

  13. B.J. Anderson says:

    I totally agree with you on this one. Lack of confidence can be crippling! Great post.

  14. Confidence is a huge issue for me too! When I begin to doubt myself, my writing suffers. It’s only when I listen to the supportive voices around me and allow my writing friends to lift me up that thrive. YAY for writerly friends! 🙂

Leave a Reply

