The Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–How Do You Handle Waiting?


A new month means it’s time to discuss a new topic! This month, I pose the question:

How do you handle waiting, whether it be for query letter responses, crit partner critiques, or letting your manuscript sit to cure before you tackle revisions?

Um, the quick answer is: I SUCK at waiting! Like most, I have the insatiable urge to check my e-mail like a thousand times an hour. I obsess constantly about what a critter thinks about my writing or how fast an agent thinks “reject!” when reading my query letter. I suppress frequent surges of anxiety, shortness of breath, jitteriness, and mind-numbing panic…

You know, I think this is pretty typical angst for a writer. (Yeah, that totally doesn’t make it any easier, LOL!)

So what makes all this worth it?

The hope that all the work, effort, and perseverance will pay off. The satisfaction of improving and honing my art. Knowing that practicing patience is an endeavor that will spill into all avenues of my life. Reminding myself that letting time pass allows me to see my work more objectively, which only makes me more able and open to learning.

How do YOU cope with waiting?

Be sure to check out Lydia’s strategy for waiting next week!

10 comments on “The Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–How Do You Handle Waiting?

  1. I’m with you on the sucking at waiting. HATE IT! lol.
    I keep telling myself it will be worth it, I know it will, but it still makes me want to eat my body weight in chocolate. heehee

  2. Lynn Rush says:

    I’ve blogged on this a few times. I’ve seen many writers blog about this. Waiting is difficult, that’s for sure.

    How I get through it. . . I write. And write. And write. Building a little stockpile of novels is the way I handle the nerves for sure. It helps me hone the craft, and helps take my mind off everything else.

    Helping other writers is key, too. By being active in critiquing other writers stuff is something else I try and do. It not only helps my craft, but theirs (hopefully-LOL.)

    John Waller has a great song, While I’m Waiting. And Firefly has one, For Those Who Wait. . .

    Those are great lyrics to live by wen it comes to waiting. FOR SURE!

  3. Lydia Kang says:

    I’m terrible at waiting too! What am I going to write about except ” I suck at waiting” too?
    Hmm, will have to get ingenious about things…

  4. I came up with a list of things to keep myself occupied while waiting for feedback from agents or crit partners. I think a 1000 piece jigsaw puzzle, taking up crochet, and a pilgrimage through the desert were on the list but I haven’t done any of them yet.

  5. elisajeglin says:

    Waiting is a terrible, terrible friend in the writing world, lol, it’s the number one acitivity any writer does, besides writing of course. Writers wait to finish their manuscripts, Writer’s wait after they’ve finished their manuscripts, writers wait after they send out their manuscript, lol, it’s like we’re an entire tribe of waiters. If we were a nomadic group the other tribes would stare at us and ask “Why aren’t they moving.” And we would reply “Because we’re waiting.”

    I suggest taking up another hobby, like singing or dancing, that way, after you’ve sent off your manuscript, the fear of your next performance will over-ride the overwhelming anxiety of waiting. And perhaps give ideas for a new novel. Wow this comment got long, sorry about that ;p

  6. Heh. I write like a fiend. So not only am I actively working to take my mind off things (not that I’m saying it actually works), but I’m being productive too. 🙂

  7. I agree with most of the others — Write, write, write, and concentrate on learning the craft. That’s all that keeps me sane. 😉

  8. Great strategies, ladies!!! Thanks for stopping by & sharing your thoughts. As always, it’s MUCH appreciated!!!

  9. Jackee says:

    A topic all near and dear to our hearts! You have a great attitude about waiting, even if you think you suck at it.

    I avoid the angst by writing and researching something shiny and new just “for fun”. It’s usually enough to keep me from checking my email every five minutes. Usually. :o)

  10. Charli Mac says:

    I handle it by ranting, blogging, Merlot, comiserating with fellow writers. What else can you do? I have zero patience. But I am working on it!

Leave a Reply

