Flake-out Friday–Tunes of Inspiration


Is it just me, or does it seem like music is a pretty big part of the writerly life? Soundtracks, inspirational songs, playlists that encapsulate a manuscript–all of these buzz words have been floating around the blogosphere as we’ve taken turns describing our writerly habits and ways.

I TOTALLY get in the zone when the tunes flow–thank you movie soundtracks, classical music, Pandora, and alternative rock!

Here’s a couple videos of songs that have inspired my new WIP (a YA dystopian where vampires are once again the bad guys).

What songs inspire your writing? Do you have a different playlist depending on the scene you’re writing?

7 comments on “Flake-out Friday–Tunes of Inspiration

  1. Alex J Cavanaugh says:

    I always listen to music as I write, mostly prog rock. If it’s an action scene, then I play something fast and heavy.

  2. Lynn Rush says:

    Wow. I liked that Fly Leaf song. I’m gonna go download that right now. The others are a bit hard for my liking, but still I can see how they can get the juices flowing.

    I love P!nk. Especially the song SOBER while I’m writing. She’s got such an awesome voice!

    Thanks for the music. Have a great day!

  3. Lydia Kang says:

    Ooh, some nice dark stuff for your writing! I definitely need music for writing, but oddly, sometimes I have to turn it off to actually write the scenes!

  4. I did a post the other day aabout songs I listen to when I’m stuck for ideas. I try not to listen to music while writing but sometimes I’ll have Jango open and playing in the background. Mostly because I’ll distract myself if I listen to songs while writing.
    Thanks for sharing these clips.

  5. lbdiamond says:

    Dark is definitely the direction I’m heading in with this WIP. Thanks for stopping by everybody!!! 😀

  6. Arlee Bird says:

    Some really fine songs in your post. I like music to write by, but I tend to lean toward wordless music, usually classical.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  7. elisajeglin says:

    I always start off listening to music when I write, but at some point it always stops and I’m too deep into what I’m typing to even realize the background noise is gone, lol. Even so, music definitely goes hand and hand with writing for me. If I didn’t have music half my muse would be gone.

Leave a Reply

