Flake-out Friday: Round Deux–BLOG CHAIN!!!!


Guess what? I totally flaked on my blog chain pals! *blushes*

The question, posed by BJ is:

Is there a place you like to write that’s extra special? Have you carved out a writing niche? Is there a certain time of day (or night) when the words fall into place, and your brain is focused on nothing but writing?

This is a great question!! Honestly, I WISH I had a space dedicated just for writing, but alas, my “special” place ends up being my couch or my local bookstore.

That’s the concrete answer.

To add more flavor to my answer, I’d like to add my writing niche is more of a state of mind. When I write, I generally have the headphones on, tunes blaring, and this sets the stage for me to imagine my setting, my characters, and how they interact. I get so immersed, I forget where I am and end up there. In my MS. With my characters. For real, I lose sense of time, space, and, at times, my own reality.

It’s intoxicating. And addicting.

Anybody else experience that?

Check out Michelle’s post for more…

Go to fullsize image

11 comments on “Flake-out Friday: Round Deux–BLOG CHAIN!!!!

  1. Lydia Kang says:

    I guess what’s important is that you just bought your new writing space! Wee!

  2. cole gibsen says:

    I agree! Music is an essential part of the writing process for me!

  3. The right state of mind is more important than the location!

  4. Michelle H. says:

    I’m totally the same. I need music to fuel me to write.

  5. I totally agree. You can write just about anywhere if the ideas are flowing. I’ve written on paper towels in a camp trailer before when I didn’t have any paper handy.

  6. Christine Fonseca says:

    I so get the getting lost in a setting thing…and Dude, you can have a WING for writing in the new house 😀

  7. Shannon says:

    Good point – the mental space is as important as the physical space.

  8. I love that you get so absorbed you end up in the MS. I don’t think that’s happened to me. I’ve had convos with my characters (sometimes even moving my lips and getting weird stares) and thought about them non-stop but don’t think I was ever in the MS itself. You’re lucky!

  9. Considering that you’re buying a mansion…I think you’ll get a special writing room. LOL. I also get totally absorbed by my stories, and music is a huge part of that.

  10. Wow, I wish I could be as easily sucked into my writing – even when I am in the middle of it, I am always secretly waiting for the next distraction.

Leave a Reply

