Blog Chain–I Said INspiration, Not PERspiration! Geez!


Shawn (author of the NEWLY released book, The Deathday Letter!!) started off this round of the blog chain.

From where do you get your inspiration for stories?  Give me the oddest, coolest, things that have inspired you.

This is such a great question! Partly because it really forces me to think about it and partly because I don’t have an answer, LOL! Seriously, inspiration (for me anyway) is both mind-blowing and subtle at the same time.

‘Kay, have I totally lost you? Hmmm…

Well, you know that saying, right? The one that goes: Creativity is 99% perspiration and 1% inspiration?

You know what happens. A miniscule spark of an idea flashes into a whole project requiring months and months of mental exercise and acrobatics. By the time I finish a WIP, I struggle to remember what triggered my to start writing it in the first place!

Lame, right?

Sorry.

When I get an idea, I’m usually flooded with an entire world. I picture myself as the MC (you know, it’s a put my feet in his or her shoes kind of thing), I imagine his or her circumstances (cuz for whatever reason, they’re already there like magic–uh, I never said I understood how my mind works, ‘kay?), and I ponder what challenge(s) he/she must face/overcome. Yes, this comes at me all at once with gale force winds, hail, AND lightening. All right, all right, it’s not 100% set in stone with that first glimpse, but let me tell you, it’s pretty close.

Um, yeah, I’m kind of sucking with the whole explaining thing…

Look at it this way. You know the pensieve from Harry Potter? (If you don’t, I’ll come out of the screen and slap you. I’m serious. Really.) Well, it’s sort of like that for me, except since it’s my own head, I’m diving backwards instead of leaning forward. (Yeah, that’s totally clear, right? *smacks forehead*)

Another way to look at it is I’m totally immersed in the “world” I’m writing about. And heck, if that’s not inspiring, I don’t know what is!

Alrighty, folks, now it’s your turn. What inspires you?

Don’t forget, if you missed Bonnie’s post yesterday, click here, and be sure to check out Michelle’s post tomorrow!!!

16 comments on “Blog Chain–I Said INspiration, Not PERspiration! Geez!

  1. Lynn Rush says:

    Okay. Ready for it? . . . . .

    I don’t know pensieve from Harry Potter.. . haven’t watched those movies or read the books.

    Ow **rubs forehead** You really can slap through the computer screen, can’t you? **LOL**

    I know what you mean about getting into their world totally. Although I write contemporary paranormal and don’t create alternate worlds, I still do that.

    Like one of my recent characters, Trinity. I’m out shopping the other day for groceries and I thought to myself, “Oh, I wonder what Trinity would say to this?” or “How would she react to these freezer lights popping on automatically.” Just stuff like that.

    I do that a lot with my characters just to get into their heads a little more.

    Great post. Thanks. Happy FRIDAY!

  2. Sometimes, entire stories or situations or characters just drop right from the ether into my head (i.e., once while I was on a road trip, I got the total inspiration, character and even the title of a book that I’ve now got scheduled third in my pipeline). The book I’m working on now came from an idea spawned while discussing a movie we’d just seen. It’s both freaky and thrilling to know that inspiration is anywhere and everywhere at once 😀 Great post!

  3. Ocean Girl says:

    I’m not saying I know, or don’t know anything. My inspiration comes from squeezing my brain 🙂

  4. Arlee Bird says:

    Many sources of inspiration, often dreams or news stories. My primary current WIP began with a dream on a Sunday morning, a couple of news stories I read in the paper that morning, and culminated with a Bible passage that was cited in a sermon that same morning. The Bible passage clarified the theme for me and told me how I could take all the idea snippets and put them together to make a coherent story.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  5. cole gibsen says:

    Awesome! I love the Harry Potter comparison – it is so perfect!

  6. Brenda Drake says:

    Oh, characters, that’s what they’re called and not multiple personalities. That’s why I became a writer, so I could blame acting out my characters instead of . . . well, you know.

    Seriously, the strangest things can inspire me like a tooth pick or a book, a whacked out person or a straight laced type, the nightly news or an article in People (totally don’t read this but my sister has it in the bathroom at her house–What are you going to do when you’re sitting there and it’s staring you in the face? Browse.) And it seems like inspiration strikes right when you don’t have a pen and notepad. Really, now, how inconsiderate can inspiration be.

    My current WIP came from a very large coffee table book. I guess we just have to be ready, pen in hand, when inspiration hits.

  7. Shannon says:

    Very cool that you get the whole world at once. Do you find yourself racing to write down as many details as possible? Or once you’re in, are you in for good?

  8. I’m like in that whole worlds and characters fall right on my lap well-developed. IE: (silly but oh soooo true)

    If you haven’t seen Night at the Museum 2, see it! Those Cupids there inspired an ENTIRE novel for me. I finished it in under a month! 😀 It’s called: Eros, YA romance. *sigh* I really love it…

  9. It’s really amazing how it all comes together for you like that!

  10. Christine Fonseca says:

    love the HP reference! Perfect.

  11. Michelle H. says:

    Having the whole world ready the moment the idea strikes is absolutely awesome! No head-smacking for me. I’ve watched Harry Potter and get the reference.

  12. I love the idea of you just “remembering” the whole thing. Seriously, anyone who doesn’t know Harry Potter should be given lines.

  13. Lisa and Laura says:

    Reading an unbelievable book inspires me. Recent read? THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE. Jandy Nelson is a genius. Our books are really different than hers, but I’m still 100% inspired.

  14. Totally. Understand. Great post!!

  15. Great post! I know exactly what you mean about having the whole world rush at you at once. I’m like that, too!

  16. Great answer to this question. I am feeling very much like what you describe, the whole world in a constant rush right at me. Sigh. Here’s hoping I find a way to manage it 🙂

Leave a Reply

