Mental Health Monday–The Movie Dirty Dozen Blogfest!!!


Firstly, have you heard about Tessa’s Blogfest of Death? You haven’t?! Well, check it out! Sign up by July 19 and you too can take part in killing your little darlings…um, I mean your characters. You knew that, right?

All right, now on to today’s blogfest…

Next week, I plan to start a series on medical illnesses that cavort as psychiatric ones–Thanks, Lydia, for a great topic idea! This week, though, I thought I’d join Alex Cavanaugh’s movie blogfest!!! (Click on his name and you will be taken through a virtual portal (imagine Bill and Ted’s EXCELLENT phonebooth or Back to the Future’s DeLorean) to the other bloggers celebrating all things film related!

Go to fullsize image

Of course, to stick with the theme of mental health, I’ve listed 12 of my all-time favorite films highlighting–yup, you guessed it–psychiatry:

PSYCHO

SHRINK

GASLIGHT

WHAT ABOUT BOB?

VERTIGO

MEMENTO

THE SILENCE OF THE LAMBS

ONE FLEW OVER THE CUCKOO’S NEST

MISERY

THE SHINING

WATER

SYBIL

Here’s some clips (cuz ya can’t talk movies without a reel or two):

I strongly urge y’all to watch this film (looks like all the parts are on YouTube!):

GASLIGHT

25 comments on “Mental Health Monday–The Movie Dirty Dozen Blogfest!!!

  1. AlexJ says:

    Memento! I applaud that selection!
    Thanks for participating.

  2. Tessa says:

    Memento I’ve seen (disturbingly frightening movie, that) and loved, seen and liked most of the others, too. I’ll have to go check out Gaslight on youtube…

    Cool list!

  3. What a disturbingly fantastic selection. Loved most of these even though they freaked me out. Well done!

  4. Lynn Rush says:

    OMG, Sybil. I love that movie. Very stirring!
    I noticed a lot of psychological thrillers on your list. 🙂

    I’ve never seen Water. . . actually never heard of it. Might have to check into that.

  5. Amparo Ortiz says:

    I am absolutely dying to see Memento and The Shining. Is it pathetic that I haven’t seen them yet??? *nods*

    Great list, Laura! Definitely adding some flicks to my to-see pile.

    Oh, and I just gave you an award over at my blog! *applauds*

  6. RaShelle says:

    What About Bob? Bill Murray – Oh my gosh, I just remembered Groundhogs Day and all of the Ghostbusters and Stripes. Sheesh. Oh well. Great movie!

    The Silence of the Lambs is sort of on my list. The rest I haven’t seen. I tried to watch The Shining once and ran and hid. Scary.

  7. y lewis says:

    I have watched most of these, a fine list you have.
    enjoyed reading,

    Yvonne,

  8. Jan says:

    Hi! Thanks for dropping by one of my sites – my writing site is Crazy Jane at the address above. I’m a psychotherapist and a writer so it seems we have more than What Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest in common! I love your list, but of course. I’ll check out the rest of your site now but just wanted to check in.

  9. Gregg Metcalf says:

    Great list! Cudo’s on including some clips, kinda wish I had thought of that. Interesting choices – I saw and liked What About Bob and all three versions of Pscho. I don’t care for slasher, sci-fi, or horror, so a couple of those I will pass on.

  10. Southpaw says:

    I haven’t seen Memento, but it has made it onto a few lists. I’ll have to check it out.

  11. Arlee Bird says:

    Very good list. Vertigo is a big favorite of mine, as is Cuckoo’s Nest. If you’ve never seen Repulsion it is a pretty good depiction of a psychotraumatic breakdown and the last image really defines the main character’s mental health history so well I thought.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  12. jennee says:

    This list is awesome. Momento was awesome and What about Bob! Classic!

  13. Rayna says:

    Fabulous selection! Have tried watching Gaslight, but there is something about black and white that makes a scary film seem far more scary!

  14. I remember watching Misery and not being able to keep my fingers from my eyes … Great picks!

  15. Ooh, that’s a fantastic list! Misery and Sybil are the kind of movies that I have to watch all the way through if I spot them on tv.

  16. LydiaK says:

    Great list! Some of these scenes have totally, utterly freaked me out when I’ve watched them. Nice choices!

  17. OOh, I have Sybil on mine too. That scared me to death. I like your movie selection, I haven’t seen half of them, though. Now I know where to go when I want to rent a movie!

    I hope life’s been treating you well, Laura–you have a special place in my heart! 😉

  18. Rats, you left out my favorite psychiatric thriller : SPELLBOUND. But difference in opinions is what makes for form rejections, right? Ouch.

    See you at Tessa’s Blogfest of Death.

    Have a great week, Roland

  19. Laura,

    How about The Dream Team with Micheal Keaton. I was a Psyc Case Manager and Direct Service Worker for years and on occassion I felt like I was taking that van ride with the folks.

    I love your selection. I prefer the slightly creepier titles but ya gotta love Bob and that scene.

    Nicole
    Fellow Paranormal Writer and MH worker in recovery

  20. How about The Dream Team with Micheal Keaton? I am a recovering psych social worker and direct care worker, and on occasion I felt like I was taking that van ride into the city with my folks.

    I am more the fan of the spooky psych films on your list but ya gotta love Bob. Great picks!

  21. great list. I have Memento and Silence of the Lambs on my list too. I’ll have to check out the ones I haven’t seen on ur list.

Leave a Reply

