The Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog


Last week, I started this month’s journey of the traveling blog by discussing Danyelle’s great topic of writerly goals. This week, Lydia takes the helm and steers us to her blog for another perspective. Check it out!

So, I’m wondering, what do you do when your goal shifts or feels like it’s getting farther away instead of closer?????

4 comments on “The Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog

  1. Lynn Rush says:

    Oh boy….That’s a loaded question. I’ll pick one thing. . . .

    Last fall (September of 2009) I was unexpectedly laid off my job. I’d been in that industry for eight years. . . (title/escrow/mortgages). . . so I was like, “Okay, NOW what?”

    I kinda sat back for a day and let the frustration and fear ride out for the day…and then I was like, “Okay, God, whatchya got for me?”

    I started writing Heaven’s Fire the next day. Finished it in a couple weeks.

    Then I was kinda like, “Oh, okay.”

    So yeah, when things change unexpectedly, gotta roll with it. . . . GREAT post.

    • lbdiamond says:

      Life can change in an instant! Thank you for sharing your story and how you coped–a novel in two weeks! Nice!!!!

      You know, pastor said something very profound last Sunday: God swings BIG doors on LITTLE hinges! He’s workin’ behind the scenes whether we know it or not! 😀

  2. elle_strauss says:

    That happened to me quite a lot with this last wip. I started just before Easter, then of course, there was Easter, then I got in a groove again, but and this is a good thing, my agent wanted revisions on another MS I had sent her, so I had to put the wip away for a couple weeks again. I gave myself pretty short time-frames, shorter than I ever had before and I had to push my goal dead lines up a few times, but in the end I still got it done faster than I would’ve if I hadn’t set some goals.

  3. Lydia Kang says:

    Thanks for the post! You are so sweet and supportive by the way. My goal is always feeling far, far away. Chocolate helps.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

