Quotes for Writers


I found this on YouTube the other day and HAD to share it:

People who know me, like the real, every day me, know that I’m not the warm and gushy, huggy-feely, cry at every tear-jerker type, but this moved me. Scout’s honor.

My favorite quote: The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt. –Sylvia Plath

Tell me, writerly friends, which quote(s) struck you?

4 comments on “Quotes for Writers

  1. Lynn Rush says:

    “Worst enemy is self-doubt.”
    Gosh, that one hit home. It’s so true, though, you know?

    I liked the “Quantity produces quality” too.

    Thanks for sharing this.

  2. Arlee Bird says:

    I’d like to have some of these in print– like motivational posters that I could look at and ruminate about for a while.

    The man who writes about himself and his own time is the only man who writes about all people and all time
    is a good one for blogging.

    And Bill Cosby’s “…..the key to failure is trying to please everybody.” — I really need to keep that one in mind.

    Thanks for sharing that thought-provoking presentation.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  3. alphabeticaprime says:

    I liked the one from Buckminster Fuller. “There is nothing in a caterpillar that tells you it’s going to be a butterfly”. A writer does not tell you they are going to write. They just do it.

    I also liked the one from Albert Einstein, “Imagination is more important than knowledge”.

    Thanks.

  4. Lydia Kang says:

    Boy, Laura, I needed this today! So inspiring. The perserverence quote and the Plath quote really hit me in the gut.
    Must keep trying!

Leave a Reply

