The Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–GOALS


Danyelle has come up with a wonderful topic this month for the traveling blog chain! Be sure to follow along next week with Lydia’s take on the topic.

What goals have you set, what do they mean to you, and why are they important?

Okay, so from a total shrink’s point of view, whenever therapy/treatment is initiated, the first 1-3 sessions are devoted to outlining goals. Obviously, people show up at my office to “feel better.” Well, the definition of that varies from person to person…and it can vary A LOT. That’s why it’s important to really be concrete about it. Otherwise, how would you know if you’ve met a goal?

When I first started writing, my goal was to get published. (Original, I know.) Even then, I figured it was a long shot. I mean, really, I had no formal “writing” training, I had devoted 12 years of my life to medicine/psychiatry, and I picked up this writing thing on a whim. Who was I to even think I could “make it?”

In my sometimes random ignorance of logic, I decided to shove the “goal” from my mind. I told myself, “So what if you don’t get published? You still like to write, right? So, it doesn’t matter.”

Let me confess to y’all right now, that is a total and complete lie. I totally would NOT be investing so many hours, weeks, months, and years if I didn’t think it would end somewhere.

So the goal of being published remains. Far, far, far, far, far, far away in the distance. So far, I can’t even see it from where I’m standing.

Great. Now what?

The nice thing about goals is that they can be broken up to many, smaller, more manageable goals that lead closer to “the one.”

(I’m getting to my point, I promise.)

My goal now is to revise the hell out of my current WIP to the point of getting it “agent worthy.” It has taken me months so far. And it’ll probably take me months more. But this goal feels manageable to me at the moment. So I’m sticking with it. And making improvements to my writing gets me closer to publishing, right?

Ah, internal consistency.

So, what do goals mean to me? Well, they are an marker or a standard for which I can check myself. Getting from goal to goal lets me see my progress. It tells me I’m making an effort. It shows me I’m ALIVE. (Cuz, ya know, in my opinion, if you’re not striving, then you’re not living up to the definition of human.) Ha, well then, goals are pretty important, no?

Tell me, folks, what are your goals for writing? What do they mean to you? What makes them important?

10 comments on “The Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog–GOALS

  1. It is really important to have goals. I try to make mine things I can achieve without the help of others. Rather than making a goal of being published I made the goal of finishing a manuscript and then finishing x number of manuscripts within a given period. Without a goal to head to though it is really hard sometimes to take even small steps.
    Wishing you luck reaching your goals.

  2. Christine Fonseca says:

    Your goals are great and you are getting closer and closer! As for me, my goal – write a great story, revise it, (repeat as often as needed)…then, write another great story!

  3. Jamie Grey says:

    My goals are really similar! I want to polish my WIP until it shines and get an agent. Then onward into the publishing world 🙂 But I also want to become a better blogger and critique partner, which I think go hand in hand with my other “writing” goals. Right now – they are the main goals I’m focused on. But I agree totally with breaking them up in to chunks. “Being Published” seems just too far away.

  4. Lydia Kang says:

    I’ll tell you my goal next week (*winks*). But I will tell you that your goal is very much shared by me and a lot of other people out there, and it’s a powerful source of motivation!!!

  5. Lisa Gibson says:

    Great post. I’m kinda’ like you in that I want to have my wip to the point that I have something to query. Then I can start the next ms. 🙂

  6. Ah, those pesky goals 😀 Like Lydia, I’ll share mine when it’s time for my entry! I loved your answer!!

  7. Jana Hutcheson says:

    Like most writers, my ultimate goal is publication. But you’re so right about it taking smaller goals to reach the big ones. Best wishes for your WIP!

  8. Lindsay says:

    I try to set myself little goals too. My goal at the moment is to finish revisions. I have a wider pictures but I’d go mad if I focused on it all at once. lol.

  9. Danyelle says:

    Awesome! I like that you’ve got one big one there and lots of bit sized ones leading up to it. Breaking it down into manageable pieces makes the impossible real. 🙂

  10. lida says:

    Ah, those pesky goals 😀 Like Lydia, I’ll share mine when it’s time for my entry! I loved your answer!!

Leave a Reply

