Blog Chain–Influence


Christine has come up with a fantastic question for this round of the blog chain:

“Which author or authors have most influenced your writing and how?”

Honestly, every book I’ve read has had some influence over how I think, how I see the world, and how I engage my imagination. As a teen, Anne Rice, Clive Barker, and Dean Koontz monopolized my reading time. I have rows and rows of their paperbacks lining my bookshelves to this day. It doesn’t take a stretch of the imagination to accept that I prefer science fiction/fantasy, right?

More recently, I’ve focused on broadening my horizons, reading a variety of genres from “classics” to more contemporary works. And can I just say Somerset Maugham’s prose in The Razor’s Edge is BEAUTIFUL? Love. It.

Moving on, I’d like to offer a confession: I’d be lying if I said Stephenie Meyer did not influence my writing. Like millions of others, I got sucked into Twilight world. For whatever reason, it got my brain working. Ideas started flowing. I pulled out the “story” I’d written years ago and read it. To my happy surprise, it had potential. So I worked on it. Completed it.

In the process, I fell in love with writing. Ultimately, that first novel got trunked. No matter. It was worth it. The passion developed and took on a momentum of its own. So cool.

I’d like to mention another point.

Not only published authors have influenced me. Truthfully, the most influential writers have been my crit buddies, my QT and RallyStorm friends, and my blogging friends. Without their help, guidance, advice, support, and cheerleading, I’d have no opportunity to learn, grow, and develop as a writer. I would have stagnated months and months ago.

For more on this topic, check out Bonnie’s post from yesterday and Kate’s post tomorrow!

Go to fullsize image

12 comments on “Blog Chain–Influence

  1. Great point about how crit partners influence your work. I know they’ve really helped me improve my writing.

  2. I truly believe as well that your crit partners can be a major influence on your work. I know they’ve definitely influenced me to step up my writing and take it to the next level.

    A lot of people knock TWILIGHT–I certainly have–but I respect Meyer in that she was able to get kids and adults reading a genre I have long-adored.

  3. Ooh – Clive Barker! Had to pop in and tell you that he’s one of my main influencers. Imajica might be my favorite book of all time (I even have the word “imajica” tattooed on my arm. Fo realz.) Great post :):)

  4. I love that you admitted Twilight influenced you and I think it’s great. I may not like the series but there’s no denying that it’s brought so many people to reading (and writing in your case) that I can’t help admitting YA is better off for it.

    Awesome post. And Clive Barker’s THE THIEF OF ALWAYS was one of my favorite books in high school.

  5. Michelle H. says:

    Yes, we mustn’t forget that more than published authors can have a great impact on our writing. Great point!

  6. cole gibsen says:

    I totally agree with Shaun. Twilight influenced me as well, I’m not afraid to admit it. For the exact reason that you said, it really got the creative juices flowing with me.

  7. Lydia K says:

    I have to say that most recently, The Hunger Games really got to me. Every sentence in that novel had a purpose, and it made me see my writing so much differently.
    And I agree, my crit buddies, QT friends online…HUGE influence.

  8. Aw, love that you gave a shout out to crit buddies and writing friends – I agree their influence should not be forgotten!

  9. Shannon says:

    Thanks for reminding us that authors can influence all aspects of a writer’s work and career.

  10. Interesting list. I like how you reference your crit buddies as inspiration. I’m finding that same feeling in the class I’m in. Nice post.

  11. Abby Annis says:

    I love that you included your crit buddies and blogging friends. I think mine have had more influence on my writing than anyone else. Great post! 🙂

  12. Christine Fonseca says:

    I really love this post Laura – I am influenced by my friends as well!

Leave a Reply

