Mental Health Monday


The topic of today is “neuroticism.” Picture Woody Allen and you’ve got a pretty good idea of what it means.

Basically, a neurotic person experiences more negative emotions than positive ones. Anxiety, guilt, anger, and depressed mood are common. People who tend toward neuroticism don’t tolerate stress particularly well.

It’s tragic really. At least for the neurotic person. For those around them, well, it could either be extremely draining, frustrating, or (dare I say it?) kind of comical.

I mean, really, who hasn’t laughed at a Woody Allen movie? (Ahem, or at Woody Allen?)

*ducks head as haters throw rotten tomatoes*

Anywho, I bring up this topic because yours truly will be taking her oral board examination for board certification in psychiatry in ONE WEEK. If I pass this test, then I will be a board certified psychiatrist. Bonus.

Too bad oral exams are like physical torture for me. *grins sheepishly, then looks for rock to hide under*

Yeah, so neuroticism pretty much defines me right now. Anyway, I’ll ask your forgiveness and understanding if I’m less attentive this week. I’m taking an intensive boot camp-like review course to prep for the exam during the days and I’ll be sticking my nose in a textbook during the evenings. Good times.

For those of you who do so, please pray for me! THANKS!!!!

Go to fullsize image

6 comments on “Mental Health Monday

  1. Good luck on your orals!

  2. Lynn Rush says:

    Great post. OH yeah, study hard. I’ll be praying for ya!!

  3. Lydia Kang says:

    good luck on the exam, and let’s hope any neuroticism aimed towards studying has helped you!!!

  4. Good luck on your oral boards!! You’re gonna do freakin’ awesome. Cuz, seriously, you don’t want that neurotic voice to STAY do you? No. You gotta kill that sucker. By way of absolutely KILLIN those orals. Go go go!

  5. lbdiamond says:

    Thanks for the support!!!

  6. Christine Fonseca says:

    good luck with everything!

Leave a Reply

