Blog Chain–Who do you write for?


Gosh, I’m so excited to join this group of fantabulous writers and bloggers on their ongoing blog chain!

Firstly, I’d like to give a big two thumbs up to Michelle McLean (http://michellemclean.blogspot.com/) and her thought-provoking question:

Do you write for the market or for yourself? Why? Are there times you do both? Or times when you’ve written something specifically because it was “hot” at the moment? If so, how did it turn out?

I have to say that personality and self-philosophy-wise, if I’m not interested in something, ain’t nothin’ gonna make me move toward it. You should’ve see me in calculus–PAIN-FUL!

Ugh.

Anyway…

The flip-side is equally true. If I become interested in something, I throw my whole being into it without holding back. The energy and devotion is pure and intense. I. LOVE. IT. I literally forget time is going by and I LIVE the world I create. It’s FAN-TAS-TIC.

So, maybe you’ve guessed by now, but my answer is:

I write for myself. I write what I love.

Incidentally, I happen to be working on a Young Adult project right now. But I’ve written adult fiction too. A common thread in all my work is paranormal and Urban Fantasty. (Just a little FYI.)

As a side note: If my work happens to coincide with what’s hot in the market, then I say, bonus! ;)-

For more information on this topic, check out Bonny’s blog post before me. Check out Sandra’s post tomorrow for a new topic!

Go to fullsize image

16 comments on “Blog Chain–Who do you write for?

  1. It’s nice to have the market in sync with your tastes, isn’t it? I hope to see your work in the bookstore someday! And thanks for the link to the next chain. I have to write up the first post tonight!

  2. That’s the best way to do it. ;D

    When I first started thinking about the quartet I’m writing now, I thought I would never be able to start, because my writing wouldn’t be at the level the story (and characters) deserved. I had no idea about the market or any of that, but when I did know what was “hot”, it tended to accomodate me. 🙂 (Romance doesn’t right now, but that’s okay.)

    I didn’t think I was a paranormal writer until I inserted a ghost… and all my betas said she was their favorite character. (Last minute=good? O-K…) So I’m drifting into yet another genre. 🙂

  3. Shannon says:

    I think your enthusiasm for your world will come through to your readers. Good approach!

  4. bjanderson says:

    Wonderful first answer!!! And welcome to the blog chain! I love it when what I’m writing fits into the market.

  5. Michelle H. says:

    Welcome to the Blog Chain!

    Not that’s a good hope. The moment the book is written, the market reflects your idea. I’m keeping my fingers crossed. But in the meantime, I’ll still continue to write for the story itself.

    Great post!

  6. Michelle H. says:

    Oops! My last comment should have read, “NOW that’s a good hope.” My bad!

  7. Michelle says:

    Nice post! 😀 I’ve noticed that if I pay attention to anything but the story, including the revisions and querying down the road, I can’t even start the thing. I try very hard to focus only on the moment I’m in, or I get nothing done, marketable or otherwise LOL

  8. Welcome to the chain! Like you, if I’m enthusiastic about something, I tend to throw myself into it. If I’m not… well those projects are stuffed away in no-man’s land!

  9. Congratulations on joining the blog chain. Great post and your enthusiasm shines through. That is my hope that when my stories are ready, that they’ll be in sync with the market.

  10. Cole Gibsen says:

    Awesome first post on the chain! I’m so glad you joined and look forward to reading more 🙂

  11. Kat says:

    I think that’s how most “next big things” happen. Someone is just going on, doing something they love, and then something happens where it catches on.

    Hmmm…I hope that happens to me. Maybe.

    Yeah. Yeah. I hope.

  12. Welcome to the chain gang. It’s awesome to have ya. This is a great answer too. I suspect there are alot of us on the chain who write for the story and hope there is someplace out there in the market for it later.

  13. lbdiamond says:

    Hi all! Thanks for the comments and warm welcome!!!! So excited to be part of the group! 😀

  14. Welcome to the chain! Really fantastic answer. I think good books will always find a market 🙂

  15. Yeah, I hear ya on the whole calculus thing – I actually checked out after pre-calc.

    Great first post and welcome to the group!

  16. When I finally decided to take the plunge and write a novel I had no idea that Young Adult Fiction was where it was at. I just knew that was the type of story I would love to write. So I think I write for myself.

    I also thought it was a bonus though when I started looking around and found the big deal was teen fiction.

Leave a Reply

