The Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog


Welcome to the GRAND OPENING of a brand new blog chain, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog. Lydia (http://lydiakang.blogspot.com/), Danyelle (http://myth-takes.blogspot.com/), Zoe (http://zoecourtman.blogspot.com/), and I have put our heads together, worked up some remedies, developed some recipies, and rocked out some super fun ideas!

Our itinerary:

  • Every month, the four of us will address a writerly topic or question.
  • The topic will travel from blog to blog on a weekly basis and we’ll take turns sharing our thoughts and musings.

We’d love to hear your input too, so be sure to travel along with us and comment!

So, peeps, let’s get the journey started.

For the first round, I’ve come up with the question:

What keeps you writing?

The easy answer: I love it, of course!

Well, honey, love’s not enough. Oh sure, writing for hours on end, despite grainy eyes and carpel tunnel aches, is EASY when I’m in the midst of a passionate embrace with a new work in progress. The words flow so smoothly, the plot expands on its own, and I’m in bliss. *phew! It’s gettin’ hot in here!*

But what happens when passion is on vacation? When the doldrums of proof-reading ONE. MORE. TIME. arrive? Or when things seem dark and bleak and I’ll just NEVER see my stories in print.

Heh.

That’s when I ask myself the question of what keeps me writing. I mean, really, who wouldn’t question their motives and stick-to-it-iveness without any positive reinforcement?

Right? Come on, admit it. Writing is HARD.

Oddly enough, I’ve minimized that “truth.” (No, not to the point of deluding myself.)

Why?

Let me tell you. If I went about writing thinking the hurdles I faced were too tall and impossible to jump, I’d see little point in continuing. I’d be defeated without taking a single step…I mean, er, writing a single word.

And what sense is there in that?

Not much.

So, what do I do?

I break it down. Focus on ONE piece at a time. Whether it be chapter by chapter, page by page, or even sentence by sentence. (Yes, I’ve been there.)

Take away: WORK ON MANAGEABLE PIECES

Now, what happens when I get stuck on the manageable piece? (Yes, I’ve been there.)

I call on my supports. My writerly friends. Writerly forums and communities (QT and RallyStorm shout outs!). My trusted beta readers–you gals R-A-W-K!

Take away: BUILD AND USE YOUR SUPPORT NETWORK

So, bottom line?

I keep writing because I love it. Love is HARD. Love takes WORK. It requires tackling problems in MANAGEABLE PIECES. And it needs a SUPPORT NETWORK.

For more information on this topic, check out Lydia Kang’s post next week! Here’s the link: http://lydiakang.blogspot.com/

11 comments on “The Sisterhood of the Traveling Blog

  1. Sounds like a fun idea! Yes, writing is much easier if you break it down, even if you have to go word by word.

    As for me, I write because I want to communicate, to reach the people on my wavelength. Sometimes writing is clearer than speaking. 😉

  2. Great post! I’ve yet to have a day when I don’t feel like working on my wip. Maybe more so now that I’m also dividing my time between blogging, social networking, and my writer’s workshops (just a couple more weeks to go!). My kids are finally back to school today, and all I could do this morning (5 am) was jump out of bed, excited that this afternoon I get to hid out in the revision cave. Finally!!!!! I’d been doing some revisions during the past ten day, but not as much as I wanted to do. I’m been suffering through massive withdrawals. 😉

    I’m with you as to why I keep writing. I love it. I love the challenge. I love seeing how much I’m improving as a writer. And I love my writer friends. 😀

  3. Lydia Kang says:

    *clapping*

    Great post Laura!

  4. Christine Fonseca says:

    Fun idea guys. And great post. as to your question – that is something I ask myself…um…daily. Some days I write because I am so excited – I just have to write to get it all out. Other days I force myself. And every now and then, I am blessed with some reader who emails me to tell me how something I wrote touched them. That’s when I remember – I write because of those moments…moments when someone else is inspired – or at least can get through another day. That is ultimately why I write, and makes the really really hard times worth it!

  5. Danyelle says:

    Great post, Laura. I totally agree: love takes work. Hard work. As you say, it’s one thing when everything is roses and tulips, and quite another when you find your beautiful garden overrun with aphids and other creepy crawlies–not to mention weeds. I think that nurturing that love is what enables people to keep going, even through the hardest of times. 🙂

  6. lbdiamond says:

    Stina–time management is certainly important. Sometimes it’s just so painful to wait until you can sit down and spend time with your story!

    Lydia–thanks for the applause! 😉

    Christine–certainly, the reward of inspiring others is a huge payoff.

    Danyelle–I agree, love definitely needs constant tending.

  7. Lynn Rush says:

    Nicely said! Great post.

  8. Jana Hutcheson says:

    Great post! 🙂

  9. Yay! Nice first blog chain post – I’m so excited to dig in! Love the simple and practical “keep on writing” steps. Great job!!

  10. Altax says:

    Very informative.. Thanks for sharing… Love it.

Leave a Reply

