Tell Me, Friends, How Did You All Decide to Start a Blog, Website, or Both?


A recurring theme on one of the forums I frequently read (http://querytracker.net/forum/index.php) is:

“Should I start a website or blog?”

I asked myself this question about four months ago. I was to the stage of figuring out what a “web presence” meant and how crucial it was to have one. Well, I’m still trying to figure it out, but I’m having a grand ol’ time learning the process. And can I just take a mo’ to gush for all the support I’m getting! What a wonderful community–THANK YOU for all your comments and well wishes!!!!

So, I’ve seen blogs doling out various pieces of advice/information regarding blogs and websites. There’s the expensive route of paying someone to develop a website for you. There’s the frugal route (much more my taste) where you can use a template-style program to build your own site. Of course, many blog-hosting sites are free and they have lots of styles to choose from. I’m not listing any here, because, honestly, I wouldn’t want to steer anyone erroneously. Bottom line, it’s all about doing your homework and scouting out the options before committing to a particular spot.

I chose the blog route because I figured I’d have more opportunity to get my feet wet, put my writing out there on a regular basis, as a sort of practice,  if you will, to develop a voice. Hehe, still working on that too!

In thinking about the question again, I’ve come to the conclusion that, yes, if every writer has a blog about writing, there’s gonna be a lot of overlap and a lot of words hemorrhaging into cyberspace. At the same time, each person’s perspective is unique. The way one person phrases something is going to be different from another person’s. Immediately, that adds value to each and every blog/website host out there.

We’re like snowflakes! Gosh, it’s all about metaphors, isn’t it?

So, in an effort to get a discussion going, I ask:

How did you decide to start a blog, website, or both? Which do you prefer? How do you manage yours? What are the pros and cons?

As always, I appreciate everyone’s comments!! Thanks!

Go to fullsize image

11 comments on “Tell Me, Friends, How Did You All Decide to Start a Blog, Website, or Both?

  1. Hey LB,

    I started a static website for my first book shortly after I started querying. That’s easy to maintain! I started my blog shortly after I found my agent.

    Looking back, I would have started blogging way sooner! I get to share and I get to know this great community of writers too! It’s free therapy to know you are in the same boat as many others and by no means alone in this crazy publishing world!!!

    xoxo — Hilary

  2. I guess I started a blog instead of a website because I didn’t have a published book. If I ever land an agent, then I’ll figure out the website. But for now it isn’t necessary since Blogger lets you add pages. That was a big bonus when they did that.

  3. Abby says:

    I started one for a ballet class. Weird, I know. We had to blog about ballet and that turned into blogging about my writing as soon as the ballet class ended. Never really did all that well in ballet… guess it’s good I don’t blog about it anymore.

  4. lbdiamond says:

    Wow, thanks for sharing! I do enjoy hearing how other people walk the path. For sure, this has been a learning experience for me. And–BONUS–I’ve met some pretty darn wonderful AND supportive people. It’s super fantastic. 🙂

  5. That’s what I love about blogging about my writing. The supports been great. And I love reading about the writing journey of other writers. You don’t feel so alone. Plus it’s nice to see others going through the same experiences as what you dealing with.

  6. Amparo Ortiz says:

    Hey, LB!

    First time posting on your blog, but have been a fan for quite some time! I have to agree with Stina about the whole “when I get an agent” approach. A blog is so much simpler to manage, and it lets you interact with fellow writers (published AND aspiring) in a personal way. My blog is currently taking its first baby steps, so we’ll see if I warm up to websites in the future.

    • lbdiamond says:

      Thanks for stopping by!

      I whole-heartedly agree. A blog is more manageable and “living” so to speak. I do enjoy the “instant” interaction with others. It is definitely a learning process. And it’s fun too, isn’t it? 🙂

  7. Emily Ann says:

    Great post.

    I have both a website and a blog, both of which I started when I got my book published.
    My brother has website experience so he helped me design it. I use it for all the information people could possibly need on my book (events, stores, the first chapter).
    I handle my blog all on my own and have actually had a lot of fun learning how to design and work with it. It’s a place I can continue to talk about my book, but also start a lot of good discussion, share ideas, and just rattle on whenever I feel like it. 😉
    One thing I never considered was how many great people I’d meet through the blogging experience! I’ve made a lot of friends through it. 🙂

    Good luck on your continued blogging sucess!

  8. Lynn Rush says:

    I went to a marketing seminar about this…it was my first writing conference ever. So, a blog seemed to be the best route for me since I’m computer challenged.

    It’s been SOOOO fun. My blog is just fun stuff, not too writing related (as far as tips and such)–I’ll leave that to the experts. I just love hanging out with people talking music, movies, and writing. Oh, and reminiscing (is that how you spell it) about things in the 70’s and 80’s.

    And really, if I need a website, WordPress blogs migrate nicely I hear. . . 🙂

  9. Lydia Kang says:

    I thought about it but was too scared. And then one day last week (eep!) I had an idea for a blog entry. And I plunged in. Now I can’t stop!

  10. Zoe says:

    Hey, Laura! I started a basic (and I mean *basic*) website when I buckled down and got really serious about finishing my novel (the first one, which I retired in December) late last year. I figured I’d need to establish an online presence. I made it primarily a framework for the blog I keep there, since I also knew I’d have to get some experience with this online networking stuff. So the blog’s been an easy way to accomplish both. So far, I’m struggling to get noticed in the blogosphere, but I know it’ll take some time and energy. But worth it! As always, great post – and awesome conversation 🙂 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

