Flake-out Friday 3


Okay, so I’ve been following Polly Frost on Twitter. She writes fiction and plays, she is a journalist, and she’s also a new-media producer. Her website is: http://http://www.pollyfrost.com/ if you wanna take a gander. Anyway, a couple of weeks ago, she posted a challenge: Tweet a synopsis of your favorite movie. Yikes! A whole movie? In one sentence?

Well, I had no trouble identifying which was my favorite movie. Then, I had a blast coming up with its descriptor. I sent it off to Twitter-space, licketty-split. To my surprise, Polly seemed to enjoy it (I got a positive response, tee-hee!), so I feel inclined sharing it with y’all. Um, that’s where the “flake” part comes in: Reliving short bursts of glory, LOL! Here it is:

A hobbit meets up with his culturally diverse peeps to melt a ring of power in a volcano. His best friend is crowned king.

Okay, folks, I know this isn’t Twitter, but there is something called the logline. It’s a one or two sentence description of your novel. It gives the who, what, and how of the story succinctly. A pretty handy thing to pull out of your pocket if you’re at a conference and an agents asks you what your book is about, right? Right.

Here’s mine: Sixteen-year-old Nickie Leone discovers she is a shapeshifter and she must use her new ability to save her dad from an opposing pride leader. Good thing super-duper hottie, Xavian, is around to help teach her the ropes of feline etiquette.

*grin*

So, to continue with the fun, I’d love to hear what you come up with for your novels!

Go to fullsize image

12 comments on “Flake-out Friday 3

  1. Kimmy says:

    Hi Laura! I posted mine on QT – along with some information I found! How funny that you are doing this today!

    • lbdiamond says:

      LOL! It is a serendipitous moment, eh?

      I had written this post a couple of weeks ago, an noticed your comment on QT…funny how things come together all on their own!

      Thanks for stopping by! (I REALLY like your logline by the way. I think mine could use some refining, LOL!) 😉

  2. Lynn Rush says:

    Great post. I like yours a bunch, but I’m so not in love with mine. Wanna hack it up for me?

    Can it be three sentences?

    Ashley’s snow-white hair, ivory eyes, and telepathic abilities prevent her from finding true love. Nicholas, the strongest telepath she’s ever met, strolls into her life, communicating only with his mind. He resists her advances, claiming he might hurt her with an even stronger power—his voice.

    Or maybe just a ONE-liner?

    If Ashley’s white hair and ivory eyes don’t deter potential boyfriends, her ability to tell them what they’re thinking will.

    I’m sooooo bad at these things. Any suggestions for me?

  3. Lydia Kang says:

    OMG. I can’t do it. Don’t make me do it! I will only do so if my arm is twisted behind my back. Being a total wuss here.

    • lbdiamond says:

      *twising arm* Come on, Lydia, give it a go. LOL! 😉 Psst, the thing about a logline is that it can also be a hook for your query letter. You know, I’m sure Elana J has blogged about this. 🙂

  4. Lynn Rush says:

    Come on, Lydia…But if you REALLY don’t want to, you can just hack up mine if you want. 🙂 That’s always fun! LOL

  5. Thanks again for the award! I linked to you in my post today.

  6. I love your LOTR logline – I didn’t think it could be done. I like A’s logline, too. Well done! My turn:

    When sixteen-year-old Denton accidental frees a murderous necromancer, he needs to find a way to shove death back into its bottle.

    I like the shorter one, Lynn. More mysterious.

    Your turn, Lydia! 😉

  7. Lynn Rush says:

    Deb–I love the shove death back into its bottle. That’s wicked-awesome. Nice!!!

    Come on, Lydia.

    This was fun. Thanks!!!

  8. Polly Frost says:

    Hi Laura,

    Love these movie tweetonopses! Hope you all have a great weekend.

  9. lbdiamond says:

    Thanks, everyone, for chiming in! This was a lot of fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

