Cameron Smith Day 2/20…In which I give my impressions of Libba Bray’s Going Bovine


All sixteen-year-old Cameron wants is to get through high school–and life in general–with a minimum of caring and effort. It’s not a lot to ask. But that’s before he’s given some bad news: He’s going to die. Which totally sucks. —http://goingbovine.com/

Yeah, the opening lines of the book jacket pretty much snag me. Man, oh, man, not only is this a good book, but I find inspiration to torque up my writing as a result! Double bonus!!

To me, Going Bovine is JD Salinger’s Catcher in the Rye meets Andrew Davidson’s The Gargoyle meets Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments (there’s some portal-type thingy’s, okay? Go with me on this).

I must say it’s the voice, written in first person, present tense that makes it sound so unique. The protagonist, Cameron–whose birthday is 2/20, by the way–reminds me of Holden Caulfield, hence the Catcher in the Rye reference. (Even cooler, Libba Bray even references Holden on page 216, thereby confirming my impression!) Anyway, Cameron’s basically an unpopular stoner kid, watching his cheerleader twin sister reap all the benefits of popularity. Until he is diagnosed with a terminal illness. With the help of a punk rocker angel (tying in the The Gargoyle reference), Cameron must follow the clues of randomness to find his cure. Oh yeah, and if he doesn’t the whole world will end. No pressure!

Go to fullsize image

All right, that’s all I’m saying, cuz I want the experience of reading this book to be a surprise for you.

So, bottom line: If you haven’t read Going Bovine already, go get a copy. Now. And if you have, I’d love to hear your impressions!

2 comments on “Cameron Smith Day 2/20…In which I give my impressions of Libba Bray’s Going Bovine

  1. Lizzy says:

    Yay! I’m so glad you read this. I love this book. 🙂

  2. lbdiamond says:

    Thanks for stopping by! I think Libba Bray has inspired me to try first person present. I kinda dig it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

