What Happens Next? You Decide! Chapter 4


Hey gang! First of all, Happy Mardi Gras!

To celebrate the festivities blogger-style, here’s the next installment of, “What Happens Next? You Decide!”  Guest blogger John Sankovich kindly presents “Chapter 4.” Stop by his blog and be part of the action of his “Choose Your Own Adventure” Series: “You can’t call them zombies!”

http://johnsankovich.blogspot.com/ 

Chapter 4:

I looked to Brandon, back to Jack and finally eyed the shovel. Things were going to get dirty soon one way or the other…

Brandon reached down to help Jack up, and that was their first mistake of the night. I bolted, my calves tightened as I made a dash toward the shovel.

Out of the corner of my eye I saw Jack stumble a little as he tried to move after me while still being pulled out of the six foot hole.

Both were too late, I wrapped my fingers around the hard wooden handle of the shovel. My pulse raced as I lifted it up as I turned on the loose dirt, my footing sunk.

A bolt of pain shot up my leg as I had to use the shovel to keep from falling. They took the momentary lapse in balance and pounced. I pulled my leg free, used the shovel to vault myself out of their reaching hands moments before they could grab me.

“Hey now. You don’t want to do something you’ll regret.” Jack said. His face twisted in anger.

I kept my weight off of my left ankle and could already feel the swelling begin. Hold the shovel in my two hands, I felt empowered, like things were going my way.

Brandon made his next mistake, “Hey hon, come on put that down. We were just joking around.”

He stepped forward with his hands out in front of him.

The anger swelled up in me and I tightened my grip on the shovel. He slipped a little on the loose dirt pile as well and I pounced. I brought the flat side of the shovel across his head as he dropped to a knee.

The loud clank and vibration shocked me. The brightness of the paint on the metal and the way that Brandon fell into the hole like it was meant for him all made my stomach twist.

Jack cried out, “What the hell did you do?”

I looked at him. Not scared, not angry, but serene. I hoisted the shovel again and looked at Jack. “I thought this was just a joke?”

Jack didn’t answer. His glossy eyes were on his best friend lying in the hole. He didn’t even see what came next. Probably felt it.

I contemplated covering the bodies as I stood over them in the now unusually hot night and decided that I better. Don’t want anyone else to fall in….

Go to fullsize image

Okay, friends. What Happens Next? You Decide!

2 comments on “What Happens Next? You Decide! Chapter 4

  1. I like it. Of course, I guess, since I wrote it, but I did notice a few typo’s and grammar errors on reading it the day after. I’m liking where this is going, but would like to see someone elses input, so I won’t post the next part, I’ll wait for someone else and maybe jump off of that section next. So People get going, its fun once you give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

