What Happens Next? You Decide!


Hi gang. Inspiration struck and I’d like to share my idea. You remember those books where you had an option to choose what happens next? The fate of the characters were in your hands. Well, I was hoping to construct a similar game, but on the net, in a more open-ended, “real time” way.

Below you will find an opening vignette of a story. Where it goes depends on you. The greater the number of readers–and responders–the more options for plot twists.

So, let’s see what happens next, shall we? Leave a comment about your idea. I will pick the most compelling one and write it up, posting it at a later date.  (Of course, this has more chance of success if y’all share with your friends, etc.)

CHAPTER 1: I THOUGHT IT WAS GONNA BE FUN

Red taillights blinked, signaling the driver ahead had engaged the brakes.

“Slow down, Brandon. You’re too close.” I slapped the dashboard with both palms, gritting my teeth against the fear of a potential impact.

“Relax Tamara. I know how to drive.” Brandon glanced at me through his long bangs. A confident grin crinkled his mouth and eyes. “Don’t you trust me?”

I rolled my eyes and focused on the car in front. We’d gotten even closer. So close, in fact, I could see the hair color of the kids in the backseat, illuminated by the truck’s headlights. Two blondes and one brunette.

The other driver tapped the brake again, swerving the car first left, then right. It earned a chuckle from Brandon.

“What an idiot,” I muttered, regretting my acceptance of Brandon’s invitation. Sure, hang out with the gang, have some fun. It’s all good. No worries. Yeah. If we got there alive.

“Come on, lighten up, T.” Brandon tapped my thigh with his hand before letting it rest against my bare skin. Stupid cheerleading uniform. I should have changed into my jeans.

I shifted position so my knees rested against the door. Brandon didn’t relinquish his grip.

“What, you don’t like me touching you? Typical. Tease, then act all shy.” He frowned and rolled down his window to toss out his cigarette butt. Damp, late autumn air whipped around the cab, bringing an instant chill to my skin.

I shivered. “Can you roll up the window please?”

He snorted. “Complain, complain. You’re no fun at all.” The sharp jab of his finger on my shoulder hurt. “Your attitude better improve when we get to Jack’s house. Got it?”

“Take me home. Now.”

A scratchy laugh echoed over the wind. “T, we’re miles from your place and almost at Jack’s. I’m not turning around now.”

“I don’t want to go to Jack’s.”

The back of his hand collided with my jaw. “Shut up.”

Shock numbed my brain and triggered my heart to increase its tempo. My breath came out in spurts as I tried to quell the tears stinging my eyes.

I’d never been hit before.

**What Happens Next?

Go to fullsize image

3 comments on “What Happens Next? You Decide!

  1. Cynthia says:

    In that instant, I became two people. One was a child deeply wounded by the assault and terrified of what might come next; the other was a young woman filled with searing rage. I sat stunned for several minutes as my two counterparts wrestled for dominance. Two teardrop sized drips of blood fell from my nose.

    “Not so cocky now are you T? You need to learn when to stop being such a bitch.”

    You are going jail, my brother is going to destroy you, too and wait until I tell the school, I thought to myself.

    The pavement became progressively rougher finally turning to hard dirt, this wasn’t the way to Jack’s house. Feeling as though all the blood had drained from my veins, I turned to Brandon,

    “You’re right. I’m sorry. I shouldn’t have acted that way. I’m sorry.”

    Brandon smiled. “You’re scared now aren’t you? Look at you sitting there all huddled up.”

    The car rolled to a stop and through the darkness I could see . . .

    Thanks for the fun Laura. Hope she lives and he gets his.

  2. I think she should snap and hit him back. Maybe even killing him. She would then have to dump the body and try to resume her normal life like nothing happened.

    I don’t think she should be fed up with it and show him who’s boss.

Leave a Reply

