Devastation in Haiti


Over lunch today, a friend and I discussed the tragedy that befell Haiti. She and her boyfriend have family members there, some of whom are not yet accounted for.

As I’ve gone through my day, my thoughts frequently return to the unsettling news. I pause, take a deep breath, and suppress the swell of empathic agony I feel for hundreds of thousands of strangers in a desperate situation.

As my friend and I discussed, what can we do? How can worried loved ones survive the next weeks and months without knowing if family and friends survived? How can a country with limited resources begin to recover?

In moments of helplesness, my reflex is to search exhaustively for ways to do my part. Though I cannot physically be there to offer my hands and feet in aid, I can offer assistance in other ways.

Prayer.

Donations.

Offer my support to friends and family who have loved ones in Haiti.

Pass on the word.

If we all come together, we can make a difference. Join me in my efforts and the efforts of the thousands who have already done the same by donating your time, money, prayers, emotions, and by spreading the word.

Go to fullsize image

2 comments on “Devastation in Haiti

  1. Cynthia says:

    Laura,

    Thank you for this. Here is another way to help: From State: Dept: Text “HAITI” to “90999” and a donation of $10 will be given automatically to the Red Cross.

    Bless you,

    Cynthia

Leave a Reply

