Bring it, NaNoWriMo!


OK, so I told myself that I would sit out of the NaNoWriMo game this year. 50,000 words in a month? No way! November equals “time to hibernate” for me. Besides, I just finished a WIP that was kicking my butt for the past several months and, with the help of some fabulous people (Go QT Kick in the Pants!), I was able to pound out over 25,000 words to finish the darn thing. My plan for November was to edit, edit, edit. There were a couple of plot threads that I knew needed smoothing out and I just wanted to make sure the characters were “consistent” because–in the midst of transitioning to a new role at my job–my progress on the thing was stop and go.

Then the buzz and excitement of NaNoWriMo got me. On All Hallow’s Eve, “write” on the edge of the wire, I decided to join. Nothing like waiting until the last minute, eh? Don’t worry. I’m not TOTALLY unprepared. In mid-September an idea struck me–I was quite unawares, but thoroughly pleased–and I’ve been biting my nails impatiently ever since to get it down on paper. My logical mind said, finish your WIP first. Well, I did. Now I’m gonna have some fun!

Who’s with me?

6d6c2aa43822ebbe
2 comments on “Bring it, NaNoWriMo!

  1. philangelus says:

    Not this year, but in 2005, I joined Nanowrimo on November 1st because someone torqued me off so bad that I needed to do something with all that energy.

    I finished. I’m not doing it this year, though. 🙂

    Good luck!

  2. lbdiamond says:

    NaNo goal met 11/12! Now, to finish! Whee!

Leave a Reply

